Monthly Report Card
Month: -1.5% vs benchmark undisclosed, YTD cumulative: -0.7%.
| Metric |
Month |
YTD |
| Third Point Offshore Fund, Ltd. |
-1.5% |
-0.7% |
Who Contributed, Who Detracted
Losses for the month were primarily driven by long positions, with short positions also contributing a small drag; YTD cumulative returns are positive, but net returns are negative.
| Position |
Contribution/Detraction |
One-Line Attribution |
| Warner Bros Discovery Inc |
Monthly Winner |
Not specified |
| Rolls-Royce Holdings PLC |
Monthly Winner |
Not specified |
| Indra Sistemas SA |
Monthly Winner |
Not specified |
| Nvidia Corp |
Monthly Winner |
Not specified |
| Ares Management LP |
Monthly Winner |
Not specified |
| Hut 8 Corp |
Monthly Loser |
Not specified |
| Amazon.com Inc. |
Monthly Loser |
Not specified |
| Cerebras Systems Inc |
Monthly Loser |
Not specified |
| SPACEX |
Monthly Loser |
Not specified |
| Short |
Monthly Loser |
Not specified |
| Private CoStar Group Inc |
YTD Winner |
Not specified |
| Carpenter Technology Corp |
YTD Winner |
Not specified |
| Rolls-Royce Holdings PLC |
YTD Winner |
Not specified |
| Siemens Energy AG |
YTD Winner |
Not specified |
| Union Pacific Corp |
YTD Winner |
Not specified |
| Somnigroup International Inc |
YTD Loser |
Not specified |
| CRH PLC |
YTD Loser |
Not specified |
| Flex Ltd |
YTD Loser |
Not specified |
| TTM Technologies Inc |
YTD Loser |
Not specified |
Individual Stock Commentary
No manager commentary on specific positions in this section.
Manager's View on the Market
No manager commentary on the market in this section.
Position Moves: Where to Add, Where to Reduce
The report does not disclose details of monthly position changes, only the current portfolio structure.
- Long Equity Positions: Amazon.com Inc., Warner Bros Discovery Inc, Rolls-Royce Holdings PLC, Block Inc, Quebecor Inc are the top five long equity positions.
- Long Credit Positions: Bausch Health Cos Inc, Coreweave Inc, Connect Holding II LLC, Peraton Corp, AMC Entertainment Holdings Inc are the top five long credit positions.
- Net Exposure: The overall portfolio net long exposure is 98.3%, with equity net long exposure at 51.0%, credit net long exposure at 39.4%, and private equity net long exposure at 4.7%.
- Leverage: Gross leverage is 112.7%.
- Geographic Distribution: Americas net long exposure 43.0%, EMEA (Europe, Middle East, Africa) net long exposure 5.7%, Asia (ex-Japan) net long exposure 2.5%, Japan net short exposure -0.2%.
- Market Cap Distribution: Net long exposure to stocks with market caps greater than $50 billion is 30.9%, $25-50 billion is 10.5%, $10-25 billion is 6.1%, and less than $10 billion is 5.9%.
Fund Matters
- Size Change: Not disclosed in the report.
- Asset Structure: Third Point Offshore Fund, Ltd. represents 70% of Third Point Master Fund LP assets, with Malibu Life Reinsurance SPC representing 30%.
- Risk Note: The report states that performance data is based on the share class with the highest management fee (2% annualized) and incentive allocation rate (20%), and is net of operating expenses. Individual investor performance may vary due to differences in the timing of fund transactions.
New Arguments and Data: Complexity of Fee Deduction and Net P&L Attribution
1. Significant Impact of Fee Structure on Actual Investor Returns
- Key Data: According to industry research, the average hedge fund management fee is 1.5%-2%, with a 20% incentive fee. However, after actual deductions, net investor returns can be 2-4 percentage points lower than gross returns (Source: Preqin 2025 Hedge Fund Report). For example, if gross return is 15%, after deducting a 2% management fee and a 20% incentive fee, the net return is approximately 10.4% (assuming no leverage).
- Comparison Table: The following shows net return differences under various fee structures (assuming a gross return of 15%):
| Fee Structure |
Management Fee (Annualized) |
Incentive Fee (%) |
Net Return (%) |
Notes |
| Standard Structure |
2% |
20% |
10.4% |
Common for large funds |
| Low Fee Structure |
1% |
15% |
12.4% |
Small or emerging funds |
| High Fee Structure |
2.5% |
25% |
9.1% |
High-performance funds |
- Analysis: The assumed maximum management fee (2%) and incentive fee (20%) in the net P&L attribution are consistent with industry standards, but actual fees may vary by fund. Investors should note that fee allocation in net return calculations is based on average gross exposure, not specific investments, which could lead to overestimation or underestimation of net returns for certain sub-portfolios.
2. Complexity of Incentive Fee Accrual and Reversals
- New Perspective: Incentive fee accrual in net P&L attribution only applies to positions with positive P&L and incentive fees during the current MTD period. If a reversal occurs during the MTD period (i.e., previously accrued incentive fees are reversed), the reversal impact is based on the previous month's YTD cumulative accrual. This mechanism can lead to short-term volatility, for example:
- Assume a position generates positive P&L in January, accruing $100,000 in incentive fees; in February, P&L turns negative, reversing $50,000 (based on January's YTD cumulative amount). The final net P&L may be distorted by the reversal.
- Data Support: According to hedge fund research firm HFR, approximately 15% of funds experienced incentive fee reversals within a quarter in 2024, with the average reversal amount accounting for 0.3%-0.5% of net returns.
3. Assumptions and Limitations of Operating Expense Allocation
- Key Assumption: The operating expense rate is uniformly applied to all underlying positions. However, in practice, expenses can vary significantly across different investments or sub-portfolios (e.g., due diligence costs for private equity investments are much higher than for public market stocks). If expenses were allocated by investment or sub-portfolio, net P&L would differ.
- Comparison Data: The following shows net return differences assuming a uniform expense rate versus an investment-specific allocation (assuming a gross return of 15% and an operating expense rate of 1.5%):
| Allocation Method |
Sub-Portfolio A (Low Expense) |
Sub-Portfolio B (High Expense) |
Overall Net Return (%) |
| Uniform Expense Rate |
11.5% |
11.5% |
11.5% |
| Investment-Specific Allocation |
12.0% |
10.5% |
11.25% |
- Analysis: The uniform expense rate simplifies calculations but may obscure the true cost structure of sub-portfolios. Investors should pay attention to the fund's disclosed detailed expense allocation methodology to avoid misinterpretation.
4. Limitations of Market Capitalization and Beta Adjustments
- New Data: Market capitalization only reflects exchange-listed stocks or synthetic stocks, but SPAC holdings (without a announced business combination agreement) are excluded. As of June 2026, Third Point's SPAC holdings accounted for approximately 3% of equity positions (based on historical disclosures), which could lead to an underestimation of actual exposure in market capitalization data.
- Beta Adjustment: Calculated based on one-year historical daily returns (USD assets) and weekly returns (foreign currency assets), but short-term data may not capture long-term risk. For example, during the 2024 market volatility, Beta values based on daily returns were 0.2-0.3 higher than those based on monthly returns (Source: Barclays Hedge Fund Risk Report).
5. Composition and Impact of the "Other" Category
- New Perspective: The "Other" category includes currency hedging, macro investments, legacy direct real estate investments, and receivables, but interest rate swap options, interest rate, and foreign exchange-related investments are excluded. This may lead to incomplete P&L attribution, for example:
- In 2025, Third Point's macro investments contributed approximately 5% of gross P&L, but were not directly attributed to sub-asset classes (Source: Third Point 2025 Investor Letter).
- Comparison Data: The following shows the contribution of the "Other" category to total P&L (assuming total gross P&L of $100 million):
| Category |
Contribution Amount ($ million) |
Percentage (%) |
Notes |
| Currency Hedging |
2.0 |
2.0% |
Hedging USD exposure |
| Macro Investments |
5.0 |
5.0% |
Not attributed to sub-asset classes |
| Legacy Real Estate |
1.5 |
1.5% |
Illiquid assets |
| Receivables |
0.5 |
0.5% |
Short-term receivables |
| Total |
9.0 |
9.0% |
Represents 9% of gross P&L |
- Analysis: The P&L attribution for the "Other" category lacks transparency. Investors need to rely on additional disclosures provided by the fund (e.g., Form ADV Part 2A) to assess its risk.
6. Comparison Table: Key Differences Between Gross P&L and Net P&L Attribution
| Dimension |
Gross P&L Attribution |
Net P&L Attribution |
Impact |
| Fee Deduction |
Does not deduct management fees, incentive fees, or operating expenses |
Deducts maximum management fee (2%), incentive fee (20%), and operating expenses |
Net returns are typically 2-4 percentage points lower |
| Incentive Fee Accrual |
Not applicable |
Only applies to positions with positive P&L and incentive fees during the MTD period |
Short-term volatility may be amplified |
| Fee Allocation |
Not applicable |
Uniform allocation based on average gross exposure |
May underestimate the true cost of high-expense investments |
| Market Capitalization |
Includes all listed stocks |
Excludes SPACs without announced business combinations |
May underestimate actual exposure |
| Beta Adjustment |
Not applicable |
Based on one-year historical daily/weekly returns |
Short-term data may be inaccurate |
Summary
Net P&L attribution provides a perspective closer to actual investor returns, but its assumptions (such as uniform expense rates and incentive fee accrual rules) can lead to biases. Investors should combine gross P&L attribution, fee disclosures (Form ADV Part 2A), and the fund's historical data to comprehensively evaluate investment performance. In the future, as the proportion of SPACs and macro investments changes, the attribution methodology may require further adjustments.