Third Point is the New York hedge fund Daniel Loeb founded in 1995 (now at 55 Hudson Yards), investing opportunistically across long/short equities, corporate and structured credit, CLOs and ventures; its flagship Offshore Fund has compounded at roughly 13% net since 1996. Loeb is famous for his caustic quarterly letters and activist campaigns — Yahoo, Sony, Nestlé and Disney have all been targets — and the letters are long-standing required reading on Wall Street.
This is Third Point’s April 2026 monthly update. Its main fund gained 4.5% last month and 4.0% so far this year, powered by tech and industrial holdings such as Amazon, Alphabet, and Broadcom. The letter also lists top positions and short bets—wagers that stocks will fall—including two unnamed shorts, one profitable and one not. For ordinary investors, it’s a useful window into how a top hedge fund is positioned: still bullish on big tech, cautious in financials. Worth reading to see professional money in action, but don’t copy it directly—hedge funds pay high fees and take risks most people shouldn't replicate.
Third Point published its April 2026 performance update: Third Point Offshore Fund returned 4.5% for the month and 4.0% year-to-date. Long exposure stood at 66.4%, short exposure at 22.5%, and net exposure at 48.1%; gross exposure was 110.4%. The main gains for the month came from long positions in
Third Point Offshore Fund returned +4.5% net in April, bringing its year-to-date return to +4.0%; the report does not disclose benchmark returns.
| Basis | Month | YTD |
|---|---|---|
| Third Point Offshore Fund (net) | 4.5% | 4.0% |
| Third Point Master Fund total portfolio (gross) | 5.8% | 5.9% |
| Third Point Master Fund total portfolio (net) | 4.5% | 4.0% |
April is the first month of Q2, so QTD and MTD are both 4.5%. By asset class, the Master Fund's monthly net return was: Equities +3.7%, Credit +0.6%, Privates -0.1%, Other +0.2%; year-to-date: Equities +2.7%, Credit +0.8%, Privates -0.2%, Other +0.6% (components may not foot to total due to rounding).
Monthly gains were concentrated in technology and industrials longs; two unnamed shorts, one winner and one loser. Year-to-date, Industrials & Materials led with +5.1% net, while Financials lagged with -2.8% net. The report lists names only, without disclosing the magnitude of each position's P&L.
| Name | Monthly Classification |
|---|---|
| Amazon.com Inc. | Winner |
| Alphabet Inc | Winner |
| Broadcom Inc | Winner |
| TSMC | Winner |
| CRH PLC | Winner |
| Unnamed short (labeled "Short" in report) | Winner |
| Unnamed short (labeled "Short" in report) | Loser |
| Quebecor Inc | Loser |
| Danaher Corp | Loser |
| Paramount Skydance Corp | Loser |
| Name | YTD Classification |
|---|---|
| MasTec Inc | Winner |
| Siemens Energy AG | Winner |
| Amazon.com Inc. | Winner (featured in both monthly and YTD lists) |
| Carpenter Technology Corp | Winner |
| Keysight Technologies Inc | Winner |
| CoStar Group Inc | Loser |
| Capital One Financial Corp | Loser |
| Somnigroup International Inc | Loser |
| Brookfield Corp | Loser |
| Indra Sistemas SA | Loser |
On the month, equity longs contributed +4.9% gross and shorts -0.1%, roughly flat; year-to-date, shorts contributed +1.8% gross in total (Fundamental & Event shorts +1.7%). Sector attribution for the year: Industrials & Materials net +5.1% (longs +5.3%), Financials net -2.8% (longs -3.3%), Enterprise Technology net +1.4%, Consumer Discretionary net -0.7%.
The report provides only a month-end position snapshot, with no month-over-month data, so specific increases or reductions are not disclosed. The total portfolio is currently long 110.4%, short 22.7%, net exposure 87.6% (gross exposure 133.1%).
Asset allocation is Third Point Offshore Fund 80% / Malibu Life Reinsurance SPC 20% (footnote notes as of 2025-12-31); performance is disclosed on a highest-fee share class basis (2% management fee + 20% performance allocation).
In the disclosed P&L attribution, the difference between gross and net is not simply a fee deduction, but rather embeds an estimation logic based on the highest fee rate and average exposure. Investors who overlook this design may misjudge the resilience of actual net returns.
The Conservative and Aggressive Sides of the Fee Model
Quantitative Example (assuming a sub-portfolio Gross P&L of +10%)
| Item | Amount (as a % of Gross P&L) |
|---|---|
| Gross return | 10.0% |
| Management fee (2% annualized, prorated for period) | approximately 0.5% (monthly) |
| Incentive allocation (20% × (10% - 0.5%)) | 1.9% |
| Net attributed return | 7.6% |
| Actual investor return (if management fee discounted to 1.5%) | ≈8.1% |
> The above calculation is illustrative only. In practice, fee allocation is based on average total exposure, and management fees and operating expenses are allocated across sub-portfolios assuming a uniform fee rate — which itself acknowledges that "precise allocation to each position is impossible," so the relative ranking of Net P&L across positions may be distorted.
The "Fuzzy Correctness" of Fee Allocation Measurement
The report acknowledges the "inherent difficulty in determining and allocating the expenses on an investment or sub-portfolio group basis," and therefore uses a uniform fee rate. This is especially disadvantageous for individual-stock attribution because a high-beta, high-turnover small-cap and a low-volatility large-cap have vastly different actual operating expenses (such as research and trading costs), yet Net attribution deducts fees "indiscriminately." This may systematically understate the attractiveness of Net P&L for trading-oriented opportunities and overstate it for holding-oriented assets.
The incentive accrual rule states: only positions with positive current-period P&L that fall within the MTD accrual window bear incentive allocation. Mathematically, this artificially creates an asymmetry of "charging fees when up, waiving fees when down."
Comparison: Standard high-water mark fund vs. Third Point's current disclosure
| Dimension | Standard high-water mark fund | Net attribution model described here |
|---|---|---|
| Accrual basis | Fund-level aggregate NAV | Each sub-portfolio/individual position independently, subject to "positive P&L" gating |
| Loss clawback | Must first recover historical losses to reach a new high | Only reverses prior month's YTD accrued portion; does not retroactively cover earlier losses |
| Fee allocation | Typically based on fund-level aggregate net assets | Allocated by average gross exposure ratio, under a uniform fee rate assumption |
This design is common in "structured products" or "unitized funds," but relatively rare in traditional hedge funds. For investors, it resembles more of a "performance simulation" than a mapping of actual fee-charging rules.
"Constructivism" is defined as a stance of "engaging with issuers to enhance shareholder value without escalating into actual action," while "Activism" refers to "ongoing active activities." There is a broad grey area in between:
Empirical implications: Third Point, as a well-known activist fund, typically has higher alpha expectations for its "activism" positions, but these also carry higher fees and risk. If positions are placed under "constructivism," investors may underestimate the actual degree of engagement and liquidity risk.
The disclosure presents multiple exposure metrics and adjustment approaches, and these differences can lead to a significant gap between surface numbers and true risk.
| Measurement Basis | Included Items | Excluded Items | Impact on Risk Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Raw Exposure | Equities, futures, swaps | — | Most intuitive, but does not reflect option nonlinearity |
| Beta-adjusted | Exposure relative to S&P converted by Beta | Options adjusted by Delta | Distorts FX and interest rate sensitivity; non-USD assets use weekly returns, Beta has only one year of history, so short-term volatility is smoothed |
| Dollar-adjusted | Options counted at current market value | Option Delta is replaced | Option time value and intrinsic value are mixed in, hiding non-directional risk |
| Total Asset Exposure | Includes fixed income, ABS, etc. | Interest rate swaps, FX, macro, legacy real estate, receivables | A large portion of macro hedges are absent from the main exposure table, understating net risk |
Particularly noteworthy: The disclosure explicitly states that "Interest rate swaptions, rates and FX related investments are excluded from exposure figures." This effectively removes all interest rate and FX derivatives from the exposure report—yet Third Point's macro strategy typically deploys these instruments at a relatively large scale. As a result, the "exposure" investors see is essentially equivalent to equity and credit long/short, and provides no way to assess the fund's actual directional bets on the rate curve or exchange rates.
Another Pitfall in Beta Adjustment: For non-USD assets, Beta is calculated using weekly returns, which understates volatility (because weekly sampling smooths out intraday and daily fluctuations), making the Beta of overseas assets lower and, in turn, exaggerating the quality of their "hedged" net exposure.
“Other” contains not only macro investments but also "P&L not directly attributed to sub-asset classes," such as:
These items can account for a considerable share of MTD/YTD P&L, especially when the interest-rate cycle reverses or exchange rates move sharply. More subtly, they also include "certain P&L components not directly attributed to individual sub-asset classes"—which provides a "backdoor" for attribution on enterprise-level hedges (e.g., index put options purchased at the portfolio level): these costs/gains and losses are placed in Other, so the sum of the attributed components may not equal the fund's overall net return, while the drivers of the variance cannot be traced item by item.
Regarding the date "31 March, 2026": The ASC Levels data provided is as of the end of Q1 2026, rather than a more recent date. This suggests that the document may still be using end-Q1 valuations in the early part of Q2, and investors should pay attention to the impact of this time lag on the valuation of liquid assets and inactive assets (legacy private investments).
For rational investors, this document should be viewed as an "assumption set for performance interpretation", not a "disclosure of realized returns." Only when the actual fee rules closely match these assumptions does the Net P&L attribution have direct reference value; otherwise, it is merely a weighted guide for assessing relative strength—and the weights themselves are rife with subjective trade-offs.