Scottish Mortgage is Baillie Gifford's flagship investment trust (founded 1909, LSE ticker SMT), known for its maximalist growth style — long-term stakes in Tesla, Amazon and ASML plus bold allocations to private companies like SpaceX and ByteDance. It is the UK retail investor's flagship vehicle for global disruptive growth.
This is about a British fund called Scottish Mortgage (despite the name, it buys fast-growing tech companies, not mortgages). In the six months to September 2025, its assets rose 22.9%, beating the global stock index by 7.5 points. But it’s a wild ride: it invests in AI startups, electric-vehicle makers, and unlisted companies, so it can soar or crash. Over five years it lagged the index; over ten it far outpaced it. The fund also trades at a 10.5% discount to its asset value, and it’s buying back shares to support the price. For ordinary investors, this is a high-risk, long-term bet, not a steady earner.
Scottish Mortgage's interim report shows that for the six months ended 30 September 2025, the company's net asset value per share total return was 22.9%, outperforming the 15.4% gain of the FTSE All-World Index (in GBP terms); the share price total return was 20.9%. Shareholders' funds reached £13,9
For the six months ended 30 September 2025, the fund's NAV total return (liabilities at fair value) was 22.9%, outperforming the FTSE All-World's (in GBP) 15.4% by 7.5 percentage points; the share price total return was 20.9%, versus -6.1% in the prior-year period.
| Basis | Six months to Sep 2025 | Six months to Sep 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| NAV (liabilities at fair value) | 22.9% | 1.9% |
| NAV (liabilities at book value) | 23.4% | 2.1% |
| Share price | 20.9% | (6.1%) |
| FTSE All-World (GBP) | 15.4% | 3.6% |
| NAV excess vs benchmark | +7.5pp | -1.7pp |
| Metric | 30 Sep 2025 | 31 Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| NAV per share (fair value) | 1,271.3p | 1,037.0p |
| NAV per share (book value) | 1,238.6p | 1,006.0p |
| Share price | 1,137.5p | 943.4p |
| Discount (fair value) | (10.5%) | (9.0%) |
| Active share | 88% | 90% |
| Net gearing | 11% | 13% |
| Shareholder funds | £13,944.2m | £12,082.5m |
During the period, the index rose 14.1% on a price basis and 15.4% on a total-return basis (the difference being dividends). The share price ranged from 815.2p to 1,141.0p, and NAV (fair value) ranged from 935.4p to 1,272.9p; the discount ranged from 7.5% to 15.9%, versus an AIC global sector average discount range of 7.6% to 9.6%.
The Chairman described the period's return as "broad-based" and did not disclose position-level attribution; the only named entity is Northvolt, whose impact derives from the base effect of a write-off a year earlier.
| Name | Contribution/Detraction | One-line attribution |
|---|---|---|
| Northvolt (comparable-period factor) | Detracted from the comparable 2024 period's return | The main reason EPS rose 38.4% year on year was that the prior-year period's return was depressed by the write-off of accrued bond income from Northvolt, lowering the comparison base; current-period portfolio income actually declined slightly |
| Portfolio overall (individual holdings not disclosed) | Positive contribution | Broad gains across Asia, the Americas and Europe; the author attributes this to shared characteristics such as efficient scaling, compounding effects and long-term perspective, without naming individual companies |
The Chairman's tone is clearly optimistic: companies are undergoing a "deep technology transition", demand for AI infrastructure is strong, and combined with strong balance sheets and a high-conviction portfolio, the expectation is for substantial returns over the coming years.
The only explicit capital action during the period was continued buybacks: 75.2m shares repurchased at a cost of £765.4m; new positions, additions, trims and exits at the individual stock level are not explicitly disclosed in this section.
Shareholder funds rose to £13,944.2m; earnings per share were 1.55p (+38.4%); the interim dividend was maintained at 1.60p; the Board Chair changed; principal risks were unchanged.
| Total-return basis | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|
| NAV (fair value) | 30.3% | 472.4% |
| Share price | 17.3% | 400.4% |
| FTSE All-World (GBP) | 85.4% | 263.3% |
The report shows a five-year NAV total return of 30.3%, significantly trailing the index's 85.4%, while the ten-year figure leads substantially (472.4% vs 263.3%); the Chairman acknowledged that the six-month window is too short and that returns are not linear, but did not explain the five-year underperformance.
The discussion of board composition at the start of this section is not isolated governance boilerplate; it forms a clear isomorphic relationship with Scottish Mortgage's investment philosophy. The report emphasises that "different professional backgrounds, different cognitive approaches and different life experiences" enrich debate — which is, in effect, a metaphor for the characteristics of its portfolio. The trust holds growth companies spanning Taiwan, Brazil, Sweden, Singapore and Silicon Valley — in essence, it too pursues a combination of "geographic diversity" and "technological pathway diversity". When the Board claims to "better understand the complex and constantly evolving markets in which companies operate", the latter half of the manager's report happens to show how this diversity is put into practice: from CATL's battery manufacturing to Anthropic's AI models, from Brazilian e-commerce MercadoLibre to China's Xiaohongshu — the intellectual diversity at governance level and the cross-market allocation at investment level form an intertextual resonance.
One notable detail: the report's tone when mentioning "gender representation" is cautious, but it is deliberately placed within the framework of the "board refreshment process", indicating that the balance between governance pressure and long-term strategy remains a sensitive issue.
The manager's report gives three core performance figures, but the raw data does not present a comparative analysis on the same page. Organised below with an added interpretation of the difference from the benchmark:
| Metric | Reporting period (six months to 30 Sep 2025) | Benchmark/reference for the period | Excess return |
|---|---|---|---|
| NAV per share total return | +22.9% | FTSE All-World: +15.4% | +7.5 ppts |
| Share price total return | +20.9% | Same as above | +5.5 ppts |
| Change in share price premium/discount to NAV | Implied detraction of roughly -2.0 ppts | — | Discount widening/narrowing bears watching |
The share price gain (20.9%) lagged the NAV gain (22.9%), implying the discount may have widened slightly during the period, or at least did not narrow in tandem. This detail forms a subtle contrast with the report's emphasis on "long-termism and indifference to short-term market recognition": even with excellent performance, the repair of market sentiment still takes time. But the shareholder letter's choice to stress "patience" is, in effect, pre-positioning expectation management for possible volatility.
The report attributes performance to "renewed investor attention" rather than to "abrupt changes in company fundamentals". This wording is careful, and it acknowledges two facts:
1. Many holdings had long been neglected (such as Tesla and CATL), and part of this round's gains comes from valuation recovery;
2. The companies have become "stronger, more efficient and more ambitious" through the "most recent dislocation" — a vindication of the long-term holding logic.
But the report also lists the "strong returns" of AI infrastructure suppliers such as NVIDIA, ASML and TSMC — companies that have not been "out of favour" for long periods, but have continued to benefit from the capital expenditure cycle. The performance in this phase is, in fact, driven by twin engines: "deep value recovery" and "growth trend continuation". Unifying both under the label of "innovation and growth" helps downplay short-term volatility and reinforce the long-term narrative.
This section reveals a number of new purchases and reductions that are not isolated decisions but display a clear chain of capital reallocation:
| Additions | Reductions (providing the source of funds) | Common logic |
|---|---|---|
| Figma, AppLovin | Amazon, Shopify | Digital design / advertising efficiency gains; capital shifting from asset-heavy e-commerce to enterprise software tools |
| Anthropic | Tempus AI | The AI foundation-model layer replacing the AI application layer, in exchange for longer-horizon model training capability |
| BYD (added), CATL (new) | Meta, Netflix, Spotify, Roblox | Position adjustments along the electrification-led track while retaining core positions in platform companies |
| Xiaohongshu (new) | MercadoLibre, Shopify | Geographic rebalancing between next-generation consumer platforms and e-commerce infrastructure |
This operating style — "trimming profitable growth stocks and adding to earlier-stage/more private companies" — is consistent with the "long-term owners" narrative. It should be noted, however, that those on the reduction list, such as Meta, Netflix and Spotify, are all companies with "proven business models"; trimming does not mean turning bearish — the report specifically stresses "retain meaningful positions". This is more like risk rebalancing: converting a portion of certain gains into new opportunities with higher uncertainty, in order to maintain the portfolio's aggressiveness.
When mentioning Anthropic and Xiaohongshu, the report specifically adds: "Access to private companies is a necessity for investors wanting exposure to the new generation of companies focused on training AI models." This sentence elevates "private companies" from an asset-class preference to a necessary condition for understanding the main line of future technology. Why?
Because most of the leaders in the AI foundation-model space today (OpenAI, Anthropic, xAI) are unlisted, and the "next generation" of AI innovation is concentrated in these illiquid equity stakes. In public markets, one can only buy the "shovel sellers" (such as NVIDIA and TSMC), but can hardly directly own the "gold diggers". Much of Scottish Mortgage's historically high returns came from early investments in private companies (such as SpaceX and ByteDance), so this strategy is a continuation of its DNA. But the risk is that private company valuations lack a fair-value anchor, and liquidity risk can amplify the discount during confidence crises.
The report cites the proceeds from reductions in "Amazon, Roblox, Spotify, Meta Platforms, Netflix, Tempus AI, MercadoLibre, Shopify" as funding for new investments. These companies were partially taken to profit after their "operational progress" over the past six months. Notably, they were all "star holdings" of the previous phase, yet Scottish Mortgage chose to reduce their weights while they were performing well. This is, in effect, a concrete practice of the "not chasing short-term trends" creed — shifting toward out-of-favour names precisely as the market begins to acknowledge the current ones. Another layer of interpretation: given the trust's enormous scale (AUM of roughly £3bn+), it must position ahead of the next growth curve and cannot wait at already fully valued levels.
The "Beneath the Headlines" passage summarises the macro backdrop as "inflation easing, interest rates peaking, geopolitical risks present, but the real change is happening in laboratories, data centres and factories". This is, in substance, a declaration that the trust's performance depends on the endogenous technology cycle rather than the macro policy cycle. Therefore, even if central banks maintain high rates, as long as technology companies' revenue growth stems from structural demand (such as AI computing power and electrification), their valuations have a degree of support. This passage further reinforces the investment style of "bottom-up, ignoring the macro".
The reporting period's return data best illustrates Scottish Mortgage's current cyclical position:
| Period | Share price total return | NAV total return | FTSE All-World Index (GBP) | NAV excess vs index |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 months | 20.9% | 22.9% | 15.4% | +7.5pp |
| 1 year | 36.5% | 33.5% | 17.4% | +16.1pp |
| 3 years | 47.6% | 47.2% | 56.8% | -9.6pp |
| 5 years | 17.3% | 30.3% | 85.4% | -55.1pp |
| 10 years | 400.4% | 472.4% | 263.3% | +209.1pp |
The key new information is not "long-term outperformance" but the structural rupture of "severe five-year underperformance and significant ten-year outperformance". This shows that Scottish Mortgage's returns are highly dependent on explosive growth in a handful of years, rather than a steady accumulation of annual excess returns. The high-valuation shock of 2021 to 2023 has still not been fully digested, but the NAV gain over the latest six months (+22.9%) has reopened the gap with the index, driven mainly by roughly 8.8 percentage points from the top five contributors — this "pulse-like" style needs to be matched with expectation management for long-term holders.
In addition, the six-month share price total return (+20.9%) was below the NAV total return (+22.9%), indicating the discount actually widened over the latest six months; while the one-year share price return (+36.5%) exceeded NAV (+33.5%), implying the discount narrowed markedly over the past 12 months. Discount repair is not a linear process; the actual returns obtained by secondary-market investors still fall short of the growth in net asset value.
The trading list for the reporting period reveals the portfolio's true marginal changes more clearly than the performance table does:
| Type | Specific Positions |
|---|---|
| New Buys | Anthropic, AppLovin, CATL, Figma, RedNote |
| Adds | Sea, BYD, Hermès International, Sana Biotechnology |
| Exits | Kinnevik, Wayfair, Shopify, Cloudflare, Meta Platforms, DoorDash, Spotify Technology SA, Delivery Hero, Netflix, Affirm |
| Reductions | ASML, Amazon.com, Meituan, Roblox, PDD Holdings, MercadoLibre, Tempus AI Inc, Ferrari, Wise Plc |
One easily overlooked fact: during the reporting period, the fund exited or reduced a large number of former core internet platforms, while most new buys were unlisted companies or high-volatility growth stocks. Exiting Meta, Netflix, Amazon, and similar positions means the portfolio has moved further away from "cash-cow platform companies"; buying Anthropic, Figma, RedNote, and CATL, meanwhile, represents a repositioning across four directions: the AI model layer, design collaboration, social commerce, and power batteries.
A notable contradiction: BYD appears both on the "adds" list and among the top five drags, with an absolute return of -18.6% for the period. This suggests the fund manager kept adding to the position as the stock declined — a contrarian accumulation rather than chasing momentum. Similarly, Roblox contributed a positive +2.1pp return with an absolute gain as high as +128.1%, yet it was still reduced, indicating profit-taking rather than trend-following.
From the changes in industry distribution, the portfolio's risk appetite is clearly visible:
| Industry | 30 Sep 2025 | 31 Mar 2025 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Consumer Discretionary | 32.1% | 33.5% | -1.4pp |
| Technology | 32.7% | 30.0% | +2.7pp |
| Industrials | 19.5% | 16.9% | +2.6pp |
| Healthcare | 6.5% | 7.9% | -1.4pp |
| Financials | 6.5% | 5.9% | +0.6pp |
| Consumer Staples | 1.0% | 1.9% | -0.9pp |
| Energy | 0.5% | 2.4% | -1.9pp |
| Basic Materials | 0.9% | 1.2% | -0.3pp |
| Net Liquid Assets | 0.3% | 0.3% | 0.0pp |
New perspective: The simultaneous rise in Technology and Industrials suggests that Scottish Mortgage is converging "AI" and "physical-world automation" into the same investment theme. Holdings such as CATL, BYD, Nuro, and PsiQuantum essentially all sit at the intersection of "intelligent computing power + energy + transportation." Meanwhile, Energy dropped from 2.4% to 0.5%, nearly cleared out, indicating that the portfolio is avoiding the traditional energy cycle and instead placing its bets on the electrification and energy storage chain.
The geographic distribution changes deserve a separate breakdown:
| Region/Market | 30 Sep 2025 | 31 Mar 2025 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| US | 51.4% | 52.2% | -0.8pp |
| Canada | 2.4% | 2.3% | +0.1pp |
| China | 13.2% | 14.5% | -1.3pp |
| Taiwan | 4.6% | 3.5% | +1.1pp |
| Singapore | 3.0% | 2.0% | +1.0pp |
| South Korea | 1.3% | 1.0% | +0.3pp |
| Eurozone | 9.8% | 9.7% | +0.1pp |
| UK | 3.1% | 3.0% | +0.1pp |
| Brazil | 6.3% | 6.5% | -0.2pp |
| Israel | 0.9% | 0.7% | +0.2pp |
Although China remains the second-largest single-country exposure (13.2%), it was net reduced by 1.3 percentage points during the reporting period, while Taiwan, Singapore, and South Korea each received increased allocations. This shows Scottish Mortgage is not "de-Asianizing" but rather shifting within Asia from mainland China to Taiwan/Singapore: the higher weight in TSMC, together with the resumed position in Sea, forms a new Asian growth portfolio. The new purchase of RedNote also suggests they are not willing to completely abandon Chinese consumer internet—only selectively retaining exposure.
The private portfolio section is the most informative segment of this report.
| Item | Six months to 30 Sep 2025 (£’000) | Year ended 31 Mar 2025 (£’000) |
|---|---|---|
| Opening balance | 3,784,787 | 3,748,379 |
| Purchase cost | 195,578 | 131,957 |
| Proceeds from sales | (983) | (12,845) |
| Realised losses | – | (5,875) |
| Transfer-to-listing adjustment | (19,770) | (248,332) |
| Fair value movement | 197,783 | 171,503 |
| Closing balance | 4,157,395 | 3,784,787 |
Key new information:
The size dispersion within the private portfolio is equally notable:
| Company size | % of total investment assets | Number of positions |
|---|---|---|
| Micro < $300m | 1.0% | 10 |
| Small $300m–$2bn | 4.3% | 15 |
| Medium $2bn–$10bn | 3.5% | 6 |
| Large > $10bn | 18.0% | 9 |
| Total | 26.8% | 40 |
A further 11 limited partnership funds and 1 contingent value right instrument are not included in the table above. This indicates that although Scottish Mortgage’s private positions account for 26.8% of the total overall, 18.0 percentage points of that is concentrated in 9 large unlisted companies. SpaceX alone accounts for 7.6% of total investment assets, ByteDance accounts for 3.8%, and Stripe for 2.5%. The top five private holdings together account for 16.9% of total investment assets, and the top ten for 20.5%. Concentration in the private portion is even higher than in the listed equity portion.
On valuation methodology, the report discloses that 287 revaluations were completed across 83 instruments, with 65% of instruments valued four times or fewer during the year and 35% valued five times or more. This data indicates that private valuations are not updated “once a year” but are refreshed through modelling at a relatively high frequency. The average valuation change for the top ten private companies was +9.2%, and the average at the company level across the full portfolio was +8.0%; however, the movement in carrying fair value relative to the opening balance only increased by about 5.2%. The difference between the two suggests that the simple average increase was pulled up by smaller companies, while valuation growth for high-weighting companies was more moderate.
| Observation Metric | Issue to Watch |
|---|---|
| Discount | 6-month share price return underperformed NAV by 2pp; the cumulative 10-year gap reached 72pp. Will the discount widen once again? |
| IPO cadence of private companies | Heartflow was valued below its carrying amount at IPO; will more private-to-public transitions bring additional "downward valuation revisions"? |
| Concentration of top-five contributors | Five stocks contributed approximately 8.8pp of returns over six months; should the AI theme pull back, portfolio drawdown would amplify. |
| China exposure | China declined from 14.5% to 13.2%, but remains the second-largest single market; policy risk has not been eliminated. |
| Liquidity buffer | Net Liquid Assets are only 0.3%; the portfolio is essentially fully invested, and with 26.8% in private companies, liquidation capacity is limited under extreme conditions. |
Overall, the Scottish Mortgage presented in this interim report is not a "steady compounding" portfolio, but a highly concentrated, valuation-elastic long-term capital allocation vehicle with a persistent tilt toward private markets and AI. Its long-term return record remains outstanding, but holders must accept significant net asset value volatility, discount erosion, and the uncertainty of private company valuations.
As of September 30, 2025, the top ten holdings accounted for 41.9% of total assets, concentrated along three main lines: technology, consumer, and new energy. This concentration is significantly higher than the average for global actively managed funds (typically 20%-30%), reflecting the trust's bet on a small number of "ultra-long-term conviction stocks."
| Rank | Company | Industry | Fair Value (£m) | % of Total Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SpaceX | Aerospace | 1,176.8 | 7.6% |
| 2 | MercadoLibre | Latin American E-commerce | 841.4 | 5.4% |
| 3 | TSMC | Semiconductor Manufacturing | 712.2 | 4.6% |
| 4 | Amazon.com | E-commerce/Cloud | 665.7 | 4.3% |
| 5 | Meta Platforms | Social Media | 626.4 | 4.0% |
| 6 | ByteDance | Social Media | 588.0 | 3.8% |
| 7 | NVIDIA | Semiconductor Design | 513.4 | 3.3% |
| 8 | ASML | Semiconductor Equipment | 479.3 | 3.1% |
| 9 | Sea | Southeast Asian Internet | 467.6 | 3.0% |
| 10 | Spotify | Audio Streaming | 434.1 | 2.8% |
| - | Total | - | 6,504.0 | 41.9% |
A notable feature is that the top ten holdings span the primary market (SpaceX, ByteDance), newly listed companies (Sea, Spotify), large mature technology stocks (Amazon, NVIDIA), and Asian advanced manufacturing (TSMC, ASML). This "full life-cycle coverage" portfolio structure allows the trust to simultaneously enjoy the benefits of valuation growth in private companies and earnings delivery from listed companies.
The chart shows that private company securities as a percentage of total assets rose with volatility from approximately 5% in 2010 to roughly 20% by September 2025. Including securities that were formerly private but are now listed, combined exposure is approximately 25%-30% (dark line in the chart). This means that for every £4 of assets, more than £1 originates from private company investments.
This change has profound implications:
1. IPOs are no longer exit nodes, but way stations in value discovery: Zipline, Databricks, Stripe, and others were continuously accumulated over multiple rounds as private companies, and were still held after listing until their growth curves matured.
2. Private company valuation contributions are increasingly significant: SpaceX (7.6%), ByteDance (3.8%), and Stripe (2.5%) together already account for 13.9%, exceeding any single listed company holding.
3. Risk tolerance is rising: In 2010, private companies accounted for only 5%; this has now expanded fourfold, indicating that in a high public-market valuation environment, the trust is more willing to position early through the primary market.
The holding-period distribution reveals an extreme "patient capital" profile:
| Holding Period | % of Total Assets | Representative Holdings |
|---|---|---|
| Over 5 years | 62.9% | SpaceX, ByteDance, MercadoLibre, NVIDIA, ASML, Spotify |
| 2-5 years | 16.3% | TSMC, Meta, Sea, CATL, Databricks |
| Under 2 years | 20.5% | Cloudflare, Roblox, and the various ARCH funds |
Notably, ten holdings have been held for over ten years, together accounting for approximately 24% of the portfolio, including:
This group of "decade-long holdings" has spanned multiple market cycles — from the post-2008 financial crisis recovery, to the 2020 pandemic shock, to the 2022 rate hikes that battered growth stocks — cumulatively contributing substantial compounding returns to the portfolio. This also confirms the earlier point that "absolute returns cannot be simply summed, because geometric growth means the compounding effect of long-term holding is far greater than linear accumulation."
Comparing fair value changes from March 31, 2025 to September 30, 2025 clearly reveals the strategic adjustment direction:
| Company | 2025/3/31 (£m) | 2025/9/30 (£m) | Change | Transaction Label |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sea | 273.4 | 467.6 | +71.0% | Significant increase |
| NVIDIA | 312.1 | 513.4 | +64.5% | Price/FX driven |
| TSMC | 475.4 | 712.2 | +49.8% | Price/FX driven |
| Zipline (private) | 187.1 | 270.4 | +44.5% | Valuation markup |
| Kering | 99.2 | 153.0 | +54.1% | Price driven |
| Meituan | 399.3 | 244.1 | -38.9% | Price/FX decline |
| Aurora Innovation | 244.3 | 187.9 | -23.1% | Price decline |
This "selling old, buying new" is not a rejection of the technology sector, but a rebalancing based on the degree of valuation digestion. For example, Meta and Amazon were partially profit-taken after excessive share price gains, while the proceeds were directed into TSMC, NVIDIA, and CATL, which offer more attractive valuations.
In the holding-period table, a group of companies is marked "–," meaning their value has been written down to zero or essentially eliminated:
The common thread in these cases: high technological barriers, long commercialization cycles, and dependence on continuous financing. Their failures are precisely the manifestation of the "one in ten survives" rule in private company portfolios. Notably, however, even with these zero-value assets, the portfolio as a whole still maintained positive growth, showing that a few enormous successes — SpaceX, ByteDance, Stripe — fully covered the losses of other projects. This is also a typical feature of venture capital's power-law distribution.
In the "under 2 years" holding period, a large number of ARCH Venture series funds (Fund X, XI, XII, XIII) dominate. These funds are typically ten-year closed-end funds; the shorter holding period simply reflects the trust's later entry as an LP. This "fund of funds" model, built through partnerships with top-tier VCs, gives the trust access to early-stage biotech and deep tech projects without directly bearing the costs of due diligence and post-investment management.
Notably, most projects held through ARCH funds are each below 0.1% of total assets, forming the "option value" segment of the portfolio — these names may deliver returns of tens of times, or may all go to zero, but their cost is extremely low and their impact on the overall portfolio is limited.
Net liquid assets account for only 0.3% of the portfolio (approximately £47 million), an extremely low level. This indicates the trust remains fully invested in the current valuation environment, with virtually no cash buffer. This is both consistent with Baillie Gifford's long-standing style — believing cash drags on long-term returns — and a reflection of its confidence in the assets it holds. What cannot be ignored, however, is that in the event of a sharp market drawdown, the low cash position would limit the trust's flexibility to add positions at lower prices.
From this data, a portfolio profile emerges of "high concentration, deep private market exposure, ultra-long holding periods, and tolerance for localized failures." The trust does not simply pursue risk diversification; rather, through in-depth research, it concentrates capital in a small number of companies with "global influence and exponential growth potential," waiting on a decadal horizon for value to materialize. This strategy is remarkably explosive in bull markets, but may also face greater drawdown pressure when market styles shift.
The supplementary holdings table reveals the primary destinations of new capital during the period (April to September 2025), showing clear thematic concentration:
In terms of fair value changes, holdings performance during the period was extremely polarized, far exceeding the volatility commonly seen in secondary markets:
| Name | Fair Value Change (£'000) | Change | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Production Board (A-2/A-3) | +58.6 | +101% | Bio-agriculture holding company, repeatedly increased |
| Horizon Robotics | +32.8 | +37.6% | Autonomous driving AI chip; possibly driven by IPO expectations |
| Revolut | +21.6 | +27.9% | Neobanking business expansion |
| Redwood Materials (C+D) | +0.2 | +0.2% | Essentially flat |
| Heartflow | -122.5 | -77.3% | Cardiovascular diagnostic software; valuation sharply cut |
| Delivery Hero | -39.5 | -44.6% | Food delivery platform; significant reduction |
| ARCH Ventures Fund X | -21.5 | -80.0% | Venture fund; sharply cut |
| WI Harper Fund VII | -9.3 | -75.2% | Venture fund; sharply cut |
Notably, venture capital fund (FoF) holdings were broadly and heavily reduced: `ARCH Ventures Fund X`, `WI Harper Fund VII`, and `ARCH Ventures Fund IX/XII/XIII` all saw changes exceeding 20% (mostly negative), while directly held unlisted securities (such as `Anthropic`, `Figma`, and `RedNote`) received new capital over the same period. This may indicate the trust is shifting from indirect allocation to direct investment, aiming to lower fees, increase transparency, and control thematic exposure more precisely.
In the table, the following companies carried a value of zero at period end (or had holdings with no fair value), which merit attention:
The exits stand in contrast to the new areas of investment: the trust has clearly abandoned digital health delivery, European batteries, and parts of enterprise software, concentrating capital instead on AI, biotech, and climate tracks with clear technological moats and secondary-market exit paths.
Although the top ten holdings account for approximately 8% of total assets (about £120 million combined, against a total of roughly £1.5 billion), the largest single holding does not exceed 0.8% of total assets, and the unlisted portion spans more than 20 sub-sectors, providing a very high degree of risk diversification. However, in terms of capital flows, new investments are concentrated in a small number of high-conviction names (such as RedNote, Figma, and Anthropic), meaning that if valuations of these companies fluctuate in the future, the impact on the portfolio will be significantly greater than the historical average. The 20% threshold for "significant additions/reductions" in the footnotes also confirms that management's frequency of active management of these holdings is increasing.
This section, based on the newly disclosed financial statements, further unpacks the sources of capital returns, balance-sheet leverage, and shareholder return strategy of Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust in the first half of 2025.
Portfolio note footnote # explicitly lists six holdings with an estimated value of zero as of September 30, 2025: Relativity Space, Uptake Technologies, Capsule Corp., Blockstream, Northvolt, and Intarcia Therapeutics. Among them, multiple Northvolt series (E1 Pref, E2 Pref, A Ord, D1 Pref) and Intarcia's convertible bonds all appear on the zero-value list. This reflects:
| Holding | Security Type | Valuation Status |
|---|---|---|
| Northvolt AB Series E1 Pref. | Unlisted preferred stock | Written down to zero |
| Northvolt AB Series E2 Pref. | Unlisted preferred stock | Written down to zero |
| Northvolt AB Series A Ord. | Unlisted common stock | Written down to zero |
| Northvolt AB Series D1 Pref. | Unlisted preferred stock | Written down to zero |
| Intarcia Therapeutics Conv. Bond | Unlisted convertible bond | Written down to zero |
Although these zero-value holdings now account for only a small share of the portfolio, their trajectory from "substantial investment" to "complete write-off" remains a vivid case study of the asymmetric risk inherent in private equity-style investments. In contrast, the substantial capital gains the fund realized over the same period mean that the appreciation of other positions (especially listed technology stocks) far exceeded these losses.
Over six months, the fund reduced its allocation to listed securities from 27.5% to 26.6%, raised unlisted securities from 72.0% to 72.9%, and held net liquid assets at 0.3%. Given that listed technology stocks generally rallied strongly over the same period, this shift indicates the fund was actively trimming certain listed holdings and directing capital into new private positions or returning it to shareholders through buybacks.
| Item | 2025 H1 (£'000) | 2024 H1 (£'000) | YoY Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Investment gains/losses | 2,653,905 | 199,331 | +1231% |
| Currency gains/losses | 33,938 | 49,271 | -31% |
| Investment income | 21,956 | 22,996 | -4.5% |
| Investment management fee | (19,866) | (18,282) | +8.7% |
| Other administrative expenses | (2,299) | (6,581) | -65% |
| Finance costs | (26,251) | (28,150) | -6.7% |
| Tax | (1,622) | (4,526) | -64% |
| Net return (total income) | 2,659,761 | 214,059 | +1142% |
Capital gains accounted for 99.3% of net returns, while investment income contributed only about 0.8%. This structure means the fund's long-term returns depend heavily on the value growth of the companies it invests in, rather than dividend income. Management fee growth (8.7%) was lower than net asset growth (approximately 15%), benefiting from a degressive fee design that charges 0.25% on the portion of assets exceeding £4 billion.
As of September 30, 2025, the fund had total assets (including current assets) of approximately £15.533 billion and net assets of £13.944 billion. The borrowing structure is as follows:
| Item | Amount (£'000) |
|---|---|
| Short-term bank loans | 423,398 |
| Long-term bank loans | 133,705 |
| Loan notes | 980,373 |
| Bonds | 51,071 |
| Total borrowings | 1,588,547 |
| Less: cash and cash equivalents | (68,179) |
| Net debt | 1,520,368 |
| Net assets | 13,944,176 |
| Net debt/Net assets | 10.9% |
Leverage remained stable at around 10%, still within a conservative range. Net asset value per share rose from 1006.0 pence to 1238.6 pence, an increase of 23.1%, surpassing the overall net asset growth of 15.4%, because the company repurchased approximately 75.2 million ordinary shares during the period.
The statement of changes in equity shows that in the first half of 2025:
The buyback cost of £765,440 thousand corresponds to 75,230,448 shares, an average buyback price of approximately £10.17 per share. With period-end net asset value per share of £12.386, the buyback discount was approximately 18%, significantly enhancing the interests of remaining shareholders. Compared with £880,114 thousand of buybacks in the same period of 2024, when more shares were repurchased (approximately 88 million shares), management has consistently executed buybacks when the share price trades at a discount to NAV — an important element of capital allocation.
| Cash Flow Item | 2025 H1 (£'000) | 2024 H1 (£'000) |
|---|---|---|
| Net cash outflow from operating activities | (27,210) | (35,116) |
| Net cash inflow from investing activities | 891,547 | 947,581 |
| Net cash outflow from financing activities | (804,014) | (953,802) |
| Net increase/(decrease) in cash | 60,323 | (41,337) |
Net cash inflow from investing activities was £892 million, mainly from £1.560 billion of securities disposals, while acquisitions over the same period totaled only £669 million. This means the fund was a net seller rather than a net buyer — capital flowed to shareholder returns (buybacks plus dividends) rather than portfolio expansion. In 2025, bank loan repayments and drawdowns under financing activities were both £418 million, reflecting rollovers that did not materially increase leverage.
The footnotes disclose that Kinnevik and Wayfair were sold in full during the period. These two exits, together with the write-downs to zero, indicate that the fund is simplifying its holdings and concentrating resources on structural growth assets with higher conviction. The asset allocation data showing the unlisted share rising rather than falling further confirms that private equity remains the core feature distinguishing this fund from ordinary growth trusts.
Overall, this interim report presents an operating model of “high returns, high buybacks, low new investment”: rising markets generate substantial capital gains, the fund locks in profits by selling part of its listed holdings, actively buys back its own shares at a discount, and fully writes down failed private projects. This strategy amplifies per-share returns in a bull market environment, but it also tests management’s long-term win rate in selecting private projects.
The board added explicit consideration of geopolitical risks to its going-concern review, including the ongoing Russia-Ukraine conflict and global trade tensions. Notably, management did not run a single-scenario test, but rather specific leverage and liquidity stress testing, and concluded that these risks did not threaten the going-concern status. The core support for this judgment lies in the company’s asset structure: the vast majority of assets are readily realisable listed securities (Level 1), and total assets significantly exceed total liabilities. In addition, all borrowings require prior board approval, and leverage levels and loan covenant compliance are reviewed by the board on a regular basis. This shows that the company not only has a “safety cushion” in liquidity, but also has a “control valve” at the governance level through borrowing approval authority, forming a dual safeguard.
| Metric (£'000) | Six months to 30 Sep 2025 | Six months to 30 Sep 2024 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Income return (after tax) | 18,035 | 14,840 | +21.5% |
| Capital return (after tax) | 2,641,726 | 199,219 | +1,226% |
| Total net return | 2,659,761 | 214,059 | +1,142% |
| Weighted average ordinary shares | 1,160,802,949 | 1,330,142,922 | -12.7% |
The data reveal two points. First, the period’s performance was almost entirely driven by capital returns (99.3% of total returns), confirming the strong appreciation from revaluation of unlisted assets (Level 3) and listed equities in the portfolio. Second, while total returns surged, the weighted average share count fell 12.7% year on year, mainly due to continuous buybacks—meaning EPS growth also benefited from the “denominator effect.” Although the underlying asset return was high, EPS growth (about 13x) was significantly higher than total return growth (about 11x), and the amplifying effect of buybacks on shareholder returns should not be underestimated.
| Asset class (£'000) | 30 Sep 2025 | 31 Mar 2025 (audited) | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Level 1: Equities/funds | 11,331,414 | 9,880,944 | +14.7% |
| Level 3: Unlisted ordinary shares | 704,916 | 835,363 | -15.6% |
| Level 3: Unlisted preference shares | 3,381,752 | 2,875,069 | +17.6% |
| Level 3: Convertible notes | 19,584 | 18,872 | +3.8% |
| Level 3: Limited partnership investments | 50,611 | 54,928 | -7.9% |
| Level 3: Contingent value rights | 532 | 555 | -4.1% |
| Level 3 total | 4,157,395 | 3,784,787 | +9.8% |
| Total investments | 15,488,809 | 13,665,731 | +13.3% |
The core change is that HeartFlow Inc moved from Level 3 to Level 1 as a result of its listing. This transfer not only gives the asset publicly traded pricing, providing objective verification of its carrying value, but also increases Level 1 assets and enhances the portfolio’s overall liquidity. At the same time, total Level 3 assets still grew 9.8%, driven mainly by a 17.6% appreciation in preference shares—the special rights of preference shares (liquidation preference) mean they can generate multiple returns in an M&A scenario, which explains the explosiveness of capital returns. The Level 3 share fell slightly from 27.7% to 26.8%, indicating that the market value of Level 1 assets grew faster and that overall liquidity did not deteriorate as a result of Level 3 expansion.
In valuing Level 3 investments, the company explicitly follows the IPEV 2022 guidelines, mainly using the market approach and dynamically selecting the technical route based on portfolio characteristics:
The key point is that all valuations are cross-checked for reasonableness using alternative techniques. This dual-method parallel mechanism reduces the risk of over-reliance on any single model. In addition, preference share investments are not classified as equity investments because they carry liquidation preferences, making them closer to “debt + option” hybrid instruments in valuation logic—which explains why their valuation volatility can be significantly greater than that of ordinary shares.
| Share capital movement (shares) | Six months to 30 Sep 2025 | Full year to 31 Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Shares repurchased and held in treasury | 75,230,448 | 184,816,766 |
| Total buyback cost (£) | 765,440,000 | 1,709,766,000 |
| Average buyback price (£/share) | 10.17 | 9.25 |
| Closing treasury shares | 358,959,601 | 283,729,153 |
| Ordinary shares in issue (excluding treasury) | 1,125,821,279 | 1,201,051,727 |
| Remaining buyback authorization | 139,817,936 | — |
Overall, during the reporting period the company displayed the typical characteristics of a closed-end investment trust: “capital appreciation as the spear, buybacks as the shield, and low-cost leverage as the stable foundation.” The rigor of the going-concern assessment further strengthens confidence in its long-term viability.
The statement that there were “no material related-party transactions” during the reporting period appears routine, but it actually has two layers of meaning:
Total borrowings fell from £1,623.9M at 31 March 2025 to £1,588.5M at 30 September 2025, a decrease of about 2.2%, but the more critical point is the substantive change in the maturity structure:
| Borrowing facility | 30 September 2025 | 31 March 2025 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| National Australia Bank revolving facility | US$100M, 2-year | US$100M, 3-year | Maturity shortened by 1 year |
| RBSI revolving facility | US$170M, 3-year | US$170M, 3-year | No change |
| Scotiabank fixed-rate loan | US$300M | US$300M | No change |
The shortening of the NAB facility from 3 years to 2 years is a noteworthy signal—it may reflect the company’s view on the medium-term rate environment (expecting lower refinancing costs in the future), or it may be a repricing of credit terms by the bank. With the rate paths of the Federal Reserve and the European Central Bank still unclear, this adjustment exposes the company to a larger refinancing need over the next 24 months, but it also avoids locking in higher rates for a long period.
All borrowings are denominated in US dollars, while the company’s asset side is dominated by US dollar assets (US equities and global technology stocks), naturally forming a currency match and eliminating the direct impact of exchange-rate fluctuations on net assets. This contrasts with the situation of some UK investment trusts that borrow in sterling while investing in US dollar assets and therefore need additional hedging.
The two reporting dates reveal a persistent and significant positive difference between the fair value and carrying amount of borrowings:
| Metric | 30 September 2025 | 31 March 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Carrying amount of borrowings | £1,588.5M | £1,623.9M |
| Fair value of borrowings | £1,220.0M | £1,251.0M |
| Difference (carrying - fair) | £368.6M | £372.9M |
| Difference as % of carrying value | 23.2% | 23.0% |
This difference means the market values the company’s borrowings well below book value—the core reason is that the fixed rate (or spread) on the company’s borrowings is higher than current market rates, or credit spreads have narrowed, causing the market value of these borrowings to trade at a discount to their carrying amount. For shareholders, this implies:
| Discount rate | 30 September 2025 | 31 March 2025 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Based on NAV (book value) | (8.2%) | (6.2%) | Widened by 2.0pp |
| Based on NAV (fair value) | (10.5%) | (9.0%) | Widened by 1.5pp |
The discount rate widened under both measures, but the drivers of the widening differ:
This data reveals an important phenomenon: even when the company’s fundamentals are strong (NAV growth of 23%), market sentiment and liquidity factors still put pressure on the discount rate. For investors, a discount rate of 10.5% (fair-value basis) is in a relatively high range in recent years, possibly reflecting market concerns about a valuation correction in technology stocks, liquidity discounts on private assets, or management’s future investment strategy.
Gearing fell from 13% to 11%, seemingly a deleveraging, but a closer look at the calculation reveals the impact of cash management strategy:
| Item | 30 September 2025 | 31 March 2025 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Borrowings (carrying value) | £1,588.5M | £1,623.9M | -£35.4M |
| Cash | £68.2M | £9.0M | +£59.2M |
| Sales awaiting settlement | £1.5M | £62.3M | -£60.8M |
| Adjusted borrowings | £1,518.8M | £1,552.6M | -£33.8M |
| Shareholders’ funds | £13,944.2M | £12,082.5M | +£1,861.7M |
| Gearing | 11% | 13% | -2pp |
The main driver of the decline in gearing was not active debt repayment, but a substantial expansion of the shareholders’ funds base (+15.4%), combined with a significant increase in cash reserves (+£59.2M). The increase in cash may reflect temporary funds from portfolio sales rather than persistent improvements in operating cash flow. A gearing level of 11% is moderate for the investment trust industry, preserving upside participation leverage without imposing excessive pressure in a market downturn.
From 31 March 2025 to 30 September 2025, the number of shares fell from 1,201.1M to 1,125.8M, a reduction of 75.2M shares (-6.3%). Buybacks of this scale have a significant accretive effect on NAV per share:
Although this report does not directly disclose the latest Active Share figure, combined with the company’s long-standing tradition of high Active Share (typically in the 85–95% range historically) and its portfolio style, the fund remains a high-conviction, high-concentration product. This style contributes significantly to excess returns in a growth-stock bull market, but also implies greater volatility and drawdowns when market style rotates. When evaluating the discount rate, investors need to consider it in conjunction with this active risk profile, rather than looking at valuation metrics in isolation.
The reporting period presented several contradictory signals at the data level:
| Positive factors | Cautious factors |
|---|---|
| NAV up sharply by 23.1% (book-value basis) | Discount rate continued to widen to 10.5% (fair-value basis) |
| Bought back 75.2M shares, enhancing per-share value | NAB facility maturity shortened, increasing refinancing uncertainty |
| Gearing fell from 13% to 11% | Higher cash may reflect fewer reinvestment opportunities |
| Fair value of borrowings £368.6M below carrying value | Private asset valuations rely on trigger events, with time lags |
These contradictions do not necessarily point to a negative conclusion, but rather reflect a company in a transitional phase that combines growth and defense: on the asset side, it is enjoying the benefits of a technology stock rebound; on the liability side, it is optimizing the structure; and on the shareholder return side, it is enhancing value through buybacks. The widening of the discount rate is less a sign of deteriorating fundamentals than a reflection of the market’s generally cautious sentiment toward high-valuation growth stocks, as well as the liquidity discount problem commonly faced by the investment trust industry.
The following is a continuation of the preceding analysis, focusing on additional evidence and perspectives drawn from the appendix data:
Gross gearing fell from 13% to 11%. On the surface, this reflects the company's proactive deleveraging, but a closer look at the data reveals another layer of reality:
| Item | 31 March 2025 | 30 September 2025 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Borrowings (carrying value, £’000) | 1,623,867 | 1,588,547 | -2.2% |
| Shareholders' funds (£’000) | 12,082,465 | 13,944,176 | +15.4% |
| Gross gearing | 13% | 11% | -2pct |
This signal deserves investors' attention: if a future market correction causes net assets to shrink, the gearing ratio will rise automatically without any increase in borrowings, leaving shareholders exposed to greater capital volatility risk. At present, the company appears to retain a forward-looking optimistic view of the market, rather than adopting a defensive contraction.
Total return data reveals an easily overlooked issue — share price performance has consistently lagged NAV:
| Metric | 30 Sep 2025 | 30 Sep 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| NAV (book value) total return | 23.4% | 2.1% |
| Share price total return | 20.9% | (6.1%) |
| Return gap | -2.5pct | -8.2pct |
In terms of discount rate:
| Date | NAV (book) | Share price | Discount rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 Mar 2025 | 1,006.0p | 943.4p | 6.2% |
| 30 Sep 2025 | 1,238.6p | 1,137.5p | 8.2% |
| 30 Sep 2024 | 928.1p | 837.0p | 9.8% |
For long-term investors, a widening discount means a lower entry cost, but it also implies that market recognition of asset quality has not fully recovered. If NAV continues to grow in the next phase while the discount does not narrow, the management team may need to step up share buybacks or consider other discount-management tools.
The interim dividend disclosed in this report was 2.78p (2.64p in the same period of 2024), up 5.3% year-on-year. Although this increase is below the 23.4% NAV total return, the dividend adjustment factor contributed only about 0.25 percentage points to total return:
| Period | Dividend | Adjustment Factor | Impact on Total Return |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6M 2025 | 2.78p | 1.0025 | +0.25pct |
| 6M 2024 | 2.64p | 1.0027 | +0.27pct |
The company information in the appendix reveals several stability signals worth noting:
This "integrated" structure, while placing trust in investment management expertise, also invites scrutiny of potential conflicts of interest: with the AIFM responsible for both investment decisions and fund operations, how is independent oversight ensured? However, the depositary (BNY Mellon) and the auditor (PwC) each provide external checks from the standpoints of asset safety and financial authenticity, forming a dual-layer safeguard mechanism. For a closed-end investment trust, this governance framework is standard configuration within the industry, and no anomalies are observed.
By examining leverage and total return together, an implied return on assets can be derived:
| Item | 31 March 2025 | 30 September 2025 | Change over Period |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shareholder funds (£'000) | 12,082,465 | 13,944,176 | +1,861,711 |
| Borrowings (£'000) | 1,623,867 | 1,588,547 | -35,320 |
| Total assets (£'000) | 13,706,332 | 15,532,723 | +1,826,391 |
Four key signals can be extracted from the appendix data:
1. The decline in leverage is a surface phenomenon — the substance is net asset expansion rather than active deleveraging; the company retains a net borrowing exposure of approximately £1.59 billion.
2. The share price discount widened by 2 percentage points, indicating limited market recognition of NAV growth; if the discount continues to widen in the next reporting period, the management team will need to respond to investor demands for discount management.
3. The dividend policy emphasizes reinvestment over cash returns — the payout ratio declined, but the impact of the dividend factor on total return calculations is negligible; the company's growth narrative is driven by capital appreciation.
4. The governance structure remains stable — the roles of the auditor, depositary, and AIFM are clearly defined, and the triple check-and-balance mechanism (investment management, asset custody, financial audit) operates well within the current framework.
Overall, this appendix is more than mere compliance disclosure; it reads like a mirror — reflecting the company's financing strategy, shareholder return philosophy, and the current state of its governance architecture against a backdrop of high NAV growth. For investors focused on "growth quality" rather than "growth numbers," this data often carries greater reference value than the performance highlights in the main report.