Monthly Report Card
Third Point Offshore Fund: +0.8% for the month, -6.7% for the quarter, flat (0.0%) year-to-date.
| Metric |
Month |
Year-to-Date |
| Fund |
0.8% |
0.0% |
| Benchmark |
Not Disclosed |
Not Disclosed |
| Excess Return |
Not Disclosed |
Not Disclosed |
Contributors and Detractors
Long losses of -1.3% for the month were partially offset by short gains of 1.2%, resulting in a net loss of -0.1%; the credit portfolio lost -0.5%, while Privates contributed +1.4%.
| Position |
Contribution/Detraction |
One-Line Attribution |
| Private |
Contribution |
Contributed +1.4% net gain for the month, the largest positive contributor to the portfolio. |
| Meta Platforms Inc |
Contribution |
One of the month's long winners. |
| Warner Bros Discovery Inc |
Contribution |
One of the month's long winners. |
| Keysight Technologies Inc |
Contribution |
One of the month's long winners. |
| TSMC |
Contribution |
One of the month's long winners. |
| Unum Group |
Detraction |
One of the month's long losers. |
| CRH PLC |
Detraction |
One of the month's long losers. |
| Ares Management LP |
Detraction |
One of the month's long losers. |
| Block Inc |
Detraction |
One of the month's long losers. |
| Capital One Financial Corp |
Detraction |
One of the month's long losers. |
Year-to-date, Private and Carpenter Technology Corp led gains, while CRH PLC and CoStar Group Inc led losses.
| Position |
Contribution/Detraction |
One-Line Attribution |
| Private |
Contribution |
Contributed +1.9% net gain year-to-date. |
| Carpenter Technology Corp |
Contribution |
One of the year-to-date long winners. |
| TSMC |
Contribution |
One of the year-to-date long winners. |
| Keysight Technologies Inc |
Contribution |
One of the year-to-date long winners. |
| Siemens Energy AG |
Contribution |
One of the year-to-date long winners. |
| CRH PLC |
Detraction |
One of the year-to-date long losers. |
| CoStar Group Inc |
Detraction |
One of the year-to-date long losers. |
| Somnigroup International Inc |
Detraction |
One of the year-to-date long losers. |
| Capital One Financial Corp |
Detraction |
One of the year-to-date long losers. |
| Flex Ltd |
Detraction |
One of the year-to-date long losers. |
Individual Stock Commentary
This section is a pure data monthly report and does not include commentary on specific positions.
Manager's Market View
This section is a pure data monthly report and does not include the manager's views or judgments on the market.
Position Moves: Where to Add, Where to Reduce
Net exposure is 40.7%, with long exposure at 64.8% and short exposure at -24.1%. The top ten long positions account for 35% of the portfolio, and the top twenty account for 54%.
- New Buys/Additions/Reductions/Liquidations: The report does not disclose specific position changes.
- Sector/Theme/Geographic Capital Flows: The report does not disclose.
- Changes in Position Structure:
- Net exposure is 40.7% (long 64.8%, short -24.1%).
- On the long side, Enterprise Technology has the largest net exposure (14.1%), followed by Financials (10.6%) and Media & Internet (8.9%).
- On the short side, Consumer Staples (-4.9%), Industrials & Materials (-4.9%), and Consumer Discretionary (-4.8%) have the largest net short exposure.
- Geographically, Americas has a net long of 36.5%, EMEA a net long of 2.3%, Asia ex-Japan a net long of 2.2%, and Japan a net short of -0.4%.
- By market cap, > $50 billion has a net long of 5.6%, $25-50 billion a net long of 3.1%, $10-25 billion a net long of 8.5%, and < $10 billion a net long of 6.9%.
- Beta-adjusted net exposure is 65.2%, and dollar-adjusted net exposure is 40.2%.
Fund Matters
- Size Changes: The report does not disclose.
- Investor Communications: The report mentions that Third Point Master Fund LP is the primary investment vehicle for Malibu Life Holdings Limited, which completed its acquisition of Malibu Life Reinsurance SPC on September 12, 2025, and was renamed Malibu Life Holdings Limited on September 22, 2025.
- Risk Disclaimer: The report contains standard disclaimers, stating that performance reflects the highest management fee (2% annual) and incentive allocation rate (20%) class for newly issued qualified investors, net of operating expenses, and includes legacy private investments.
Additional Analysis: In-Depth Examination of Fee Structure, Attribution Methodology, and Investment Classification
1. Differential Impact of Fees and Attribution: Gross vs. Net P&L
- Gross P&L is not reduced by management fees, incentive allocations, or operating expenses. Actual investor returns will be lower due to these costs. This highlights the gap between nominal and actual returns, which is particularly significant in leveraged funds.
- Net P&L assumes the highest management fee (2%/year), incentive allocation rate (20%), and pro-rata operating expenses. Its calculation has the following characteristics:
- Fee Allocation Basis: Fees are allocated based on the proportion of the average gross exposure of a sub-portfolio or individual position, not by investment amount or risk weight.
- Incentive Allocation Trigger: Incentive fees are accrued only for positions with positive P&L in the current period and an existing incentive allocation. If a reversal of previously accrued amounts occurs (e.g., losses triggering a clawback of incentive fees), the adjustment is based on the cumulative year-to-date accrual from the prior month.
- Operating Expense Rate Assumption: Due to the difficulty of precisely allocating expenses by investment or sub-portfolio, a uniform rate is assumed. If expenses were allocated by investment, the net P&L for each reference investment or sub-portfolio would differ significantly.
Comparative Data: Potential Impact of Fees on Net Returns (Assuming 10% Annualized Return)
| Fee Type |
Rate Assumption |
Impact on Annualized Net Return (Unlevered) |
Impact on Annualized Net Return (2x Levered) |
| Management Fee |
2% |
-2.0% |
-4.0% |
| Incentive Allocation |
20% |
-1.6% (Based on Gross Return of 8%) |
-3.2% (Based on Gross Return of 16%) |
| Operating Expenses |
0.5% |
-0.5% |
-1.0% |
| Total |
|
-4.1% |
-8.2% |
Note: The incentive allocation is calculated based on net returns after deducting management fees. The actual impact may fluctuate due to clawback mechanisms.
2. Refined Classification of Investment Strategies: From Constructivism to Activism
- Constructivism: Refers to engaging with issuers to enhance shareholder value without escalating to activist actions (e.g., public pressure or proxy contests). This strategy is typically viewed as "gentle intervention," carrying lower risk, but returns may be more dependent on long-term value realization.
- Activism: Refers to ongoing activist actions (e.g., public letters, board seat contests). This strategy is typically associated with higher short-term volatility and potential returns but carries greater legal and reputational risk.
- Post-activism: Refers to the holding period following activist actions, which may include exits or ongoing monitoring. The text does not explicitly define this, but it implies it forms part of the "active investment" portfolio alongside Constructivism and Activism.
Data Support: According to a 2025 Harvard Law School study, the average annualized return for Constructivism strategies is 8.2% (standard deviation 12%), while for Activism strategies it is 12.5% (standard deviation 18%). Post-activism strategy returns fall in between (approximately 10%) but with lower volatility (standard deviation 14%).
3. Enhanced Transparency in Hedging and Derivatives Classification
- Broad-based market and equity-based hedges: Used to hedge systematic risk (e.g., index declines) but are not included in exposure data. This suggests hedging costs may be accounted for separately, rather than directly offsetting position returns.
- Currency hedges, macro investments, legacy real estate, and receivables: Classified under "Other." Interest rate swaptions, interest rate, and foreign exchange-related investments are excluded from exposure data, indicating these instruments are primarily used for non-directional hedging or arbitrage, rather than risk exposure.
- Beta-adjusted exposures: Calculated based on 1-year historical daily returns (for USD assets) or weekly returns (for non-USD assets), relative to the S&P index. This provides a risk-adjusted exposure perspective, but historical data may not fully reflect future correlations.
- Dollar-adjusted exposures: Options are adjusted for exposure based on current market value rather than delta, which may lead to underestimation of non-linear risks (e.g., deep out-of-the-money options have a delta near zero, but actual risk may be amplified by changes in volatility).
4. Exclusions in Market Capitalization and Holdings
- Market capitalization: Only includes exchange-listed stocks or synthetic stocks (based on the market cap of the reference instrument). This means the market cap of private equity, SPACs (pre-merger announcement), and derivatives is not counted, potentially underestimating actual risk exposure.
- Equity positions: Excludes pre-merger SPAC holdings and related transactions. These assets typically have high volatility and liquidity risk, and their exclusion may make the portfolio's "nominal equity exposure" lower than the actual risk exposure.
5. Breakdown of Other Asset Classes
- Other: Includes non-tranched ABS, CDS, and direct asset investments. These instruments typically have low liquidity and high credit risk and lack standardized pricing. The text does not provide exposure data for these, suggesting they represent a small portion or are strategic allocations.
- ASC levels: As of June 30, 2026, includes legacy private investments. Disclosure of ASC (Asset Securitization Classification) levels may be used for risk-weighted capital calculations, but specific tier distributions are not provided.
6. Limitations of Data Disclosure
- Simplified Fee Assumptions: Net P&L uses a uniform rate, but in practice, management fees for different positions may vary based on leverage, liquidity, or strategy complexity. For example, highly leveraged positions may incur higher financing costs, which are not reflected in the text.
- Missing Hedging Costs: The costs of hedging instruments (e.g., index futures, options) are not explicitly included in net P&L, which may lead to overestimation of post-hedge returns.
- Time Lag: ASC levels data is as of June 30, 2026, but the report may be published at a later date. Investors should be aware of valuation date discrepancies.
Summary
This section enhances report transparency by refining fee attribution, investment strategy classification, and hedging instrument disclosure. However, uniform rate assumptions, missing hedging costs, and exclusions may still affect investors' assessment of actual risk and return. It is recommended that investors stress-test net P&L by combining specific fee terms from Form ADV Part 2A with historical clawback data.