← Back to list
Baillie Gifford Shin NipponArticle7 Oct 2026Source: bailliegifford.com

Baillie Gifford Shin Nippon Investment Trust Factsheet

In plain words

This is a monthly report on Baillie Gifford's fund that invests in small Japanese companies. The fund doesn't give a clear market view but says it focuses on firms with high growth potential, like those innovating or expanding overseas. Key holdings are in industrials, tech, and consumer discretionary. The fund returned 31% over the past year, beating its benchmark, though long-term performance is mixed.

AI SummaryAI-generated · may contain errors · verify against the original

Baillie Gifford Shin Nippon PLC reported as of September 30, 2026, with a core investment in 40-80 Japanese small-cap companies possessing above-average growth potential, adopting a five-year active management perspective benchmarked against the MSCI Japan Small Cap Index. Total assets stood at £419

~2 min full read · 6 sections
Deep Analysis

This Month's Report Card

Monthly data was not separately disclosed; only cumulative performance as of September 30, 2026, is provided: Share price return of 31.6% over the past year vs. benchmark 25.3%, NAV return of 31.0%.

Metric 1 Year 3 Years 5 Years 10 Years
Share Price 31.6% 39.0% -28.0% 54.3%
NAV 31.0% 32.5% -19.5% 70.5%
Benchmark (MSCI Japan Small Cap Index) 25.3% 63.6% 55.9% 122.9%

Who Contributed, Who Detracted

This section did not disclose monthly attribution data; only the top ten holdings and sector allocation are provided.

Stock Commentary

This section did not include commentary on specific positions.

How the Manager Views the Market

[Not explicitly stated] This section did not include the manager's judgmental commentary on the market or sectors. The report only reiterates the investment philosophy: investing in 40-80 Japanese small-cap companies with above-average growth potential, adopting a five-year active management perspective, with growth sources including innovative business models, disruption of traditional Japanese practices, or overseas market opportunities.

How Positions Shifted: Where to Add, Where to Reduce

This section did not disclose position changes. The top ten holdings account for 29.6% of total assets, with sector allocation primarily in Industrials (24.5%), Information Technology (21.9%), and Consumer Discretionary (17.3%).

Fund Details

  • Total Assets: £419.92 million, total borrowings of £53.21 million, total leverage ratio of 15%, net leverage ratio of 12%.
  • Active Share: 96%, annual turnover rate of 15%.
  • NAV per Share: 193.62 pence, share price of 175.20 pence, discount of 9.5%.
  • Dividend Yield: 0.4%, ongoing charges ratio of 0.81%.
  • Rating: As of August 31, 2026, Morningstar overall rating did not disclose a specific star rating.