← Back to list
Baillie Gifford Shin NipponArticle9 Jul 2026Source: bailliegifford.com

Baillie Gifford Shin Nippon Investment Trust Factsheet

In plain words

This article is about a fund that invests in small Japanese companies. In the past year it returned about 30%, close to the market. But over five years it lost 23%, while the Japanese small-cap index gained 58%. The manager picks innovative small firms, but recently those picks have underperformed badly. For ordinary investors, the lesson is that even professional funds can lag for years. Don't judge a fund by one good year—look at long-term results. The fund also uses borrowing, which can increase losses. It's worth reading because it shows the real risks of small-cap and growth investing, even for a well-known manager.

AI SummaryAI-generated · may contain errors · verify against the original

Baillie Gifford Shin Nippon PLC is an actively managed Japanese small-cap growth trust that invests in 40–80 companies at reasonable valuations and may invest up to 10% in unlisted companies, seeking long-term capital growth. As of June 30, 2026, total assets stood at £403.57m, with the share price

~5 min full read · 4 sections
Deep Analysis

This Month's Scorecard

For the 12 months ended June 30, 2026: NAV +30.2%, share price +31.2%, trailing the MSCI Japan Small Cap Index (+33.2%) by 3.0 and 2.0 percentage points, respectively; five-year NAV return of -22.6% versus +57.9% for the index over the same period, a clear long-term gap. The report does not provide monthly data.

Measure 1 Year 3 Years 5 Years 10 Years
Fund NAV 30.2 15.2 -22.6 64.0
Fund share price 31.2 17.4 -28.2 46.5
MSCI Japan Small Cap Index 33.2 63.2 57.9 134.9

Discrete performance by fiscal year:

Year ended June 30 2022 2023 2024 2025 2026
Fund share price -38.3 -0.8 -18.0 9.2 31.2
Fund NAV -34.3 2.3 -15.1 4.1 30.2
MSCI Japan Small Cap Index -10.4 8.0 7.5 13.9 33.2

All performance is in sterling, on a total-return basis (dividends reinvested). The most striking feature of the report: the latest year was close to the benchmark, but the three- and five-year numbers show substantial underperformance.

How the Managers View the Market

[Neutral/Not stated] The report offers no judgment on the direction of the market, only a restatement of the "five-year Japan small-cap growth" approach; readers should note this is the fund's self-description, not an independent market view.

  • The objective is long-term capital growth by investing in "Japanese small companies believed to have above-average capital growth prospects"; the portfolio holds 40–80 small businesses with "attractive valuations", and unlisted investments are capped at 10% of total assets at the time of initial investment.
  • Growth sources are summarised as: innovative business models, disruption of traditional Japanese business practices, and overseas market opportunities.
  • On management style, it explicitly states that the reference is the underlying companies rather than the MSCI Japan Small Cap Index; active share is 96%, annual turnover 16%.
  • Position structure clues: Gross Gearing 15%, Net Gearing 11%, total borrowings £51.49m, indicating the fund uses moderate leverage; however, the report does not disclose long/short ratio or directional exposure.

Position Moves: Where Increases, Where Decreases

The report only discloses the holdings snapshot as of June 30, 2026, with no new positions, adds, trims, or liquidations, so only the existing distribution can be shown; no buy/sell direction is indicated for any individual stock.

Top ten holdings:

Company % of total assets
Tsugami 5.6%
Harmonic Drive Systems 4.1%
JEOL 3.7%
Nikkiso 3.6%
Kohoku Kogyo 3.5%
Toyo Tanso 2.9%
Optex 2.9%
SWCC Corporation 2.6%
GA Technologies 2.4%
Yonex 2.3%

The top ten total 33.6%.

Industry distribution:

Industry % of total assets
Industrials 29.3%
Information Technology 20.3%
Consumer Discretionary 14.9%
Communication Services 8.4%
Financials 8.2%
Health Care 7.8%
Real Estate 3.2%
Consumer Staples 3.1%
Materials 1.7%
Net Liquid Assets 3.0%

Fund Matters

As of June 30, 2026, total assets £403.57m, total borrowings £51.49m; NAV per share 178.02p, share price 162.40p, an 8.8% discount to NAV.

  • Fund manager Brian Lum, deputy manager Jared Anderson.
  • Ongoing charges 0.81% (AIC basis), dividend yield 0.4%.
  • Risk warnings focus on: poor liquidity of unlisted investments, greater volatility of small-cap stocks, leverage amplifying losses, single-market and currency risk, and share price premiums/discounts to NAV; the fund targets long-term capital growth investors who can tolerate losses, and is unsuitable for those sensitive to short-term fluctuations, seeking stable income, or with an investment horizon shorter than five years.