This factsheet covers Baillie Gifford Saints Investment Trust. Over 10 years, the fund gained 152.5%, lagging the global stock index's 230.3%. No market outlook is given. Top holdings include TSMC (4.4% of assets, the largest), Apple (3.6%), and Microsoft (3.1%)—all held as core positions. The fund has low fees (0.59%) and a 2.9% dividend yield, but warns it's not for investors with less than a 5-year horizon.
At a Glance The SAINTS (The Scottish American Investment Company P.L.C.) report focuses on the trust's performance as a core income investment vehicle, with the central thesis being that its global portfolio of equities, bonds, and real estate enables dividend growth to outpace inflation. As of Augu
Monthly return data was not provided; only cumulative performance as of August 31, 2026, was disclosed: 10-year share price +152.5%, NAV +173.7%, both trailing the FTSE All-World Index's +230.3%.
| Metric | 1 Year | 3 Year | 5 Year | 10 Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Share Price | 14.7% | 21.5% | 25.5% | 152.5% |
| NAV | 9.4% | 25.1% | 35.7% | 173.7% |
| FTSE All-World Index | 22.3% | 65.5% | 74.1% | 230.3% |
Discrete Annual Performance (as of June 30):
| Metric | 2021-22 | 2022-23 | 2023-24 | 2024-25 | 2025-26 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Share Price | -3.0% | 15.6% | 1.1% | 2.2% | 9.4% |
| NAV | 0.9% | 12.5% | 9.4% | 1.7% | 7.0% |
| Index | -3.6% | 11.7% | 20.4% | 7.8% | 28.1% |
The report did not provide monthly attribution data; only the top ten holdings and regional allocation structure were disclosed.
Top Ten Holdings (27.9% of total assets):
| Holding | Weight |
|---|---|
| TSMC | 4.4% |
| Apple | 3.6% |
| Microsoft | 3.1% |
| Atlas Copco | 2.8% |
| Coca-Cola | 2.7% |
| Procter & Gamble | 2.4% |
| Alphabet | 2.4% |
| Roche | 2.3% |
| Schneider Electric | 2.2% |
| Analog Devices | 2.1% |
Regional Allocation: North America 37.2%, Europe 29.9%, Asia 17.4%, Real Estate 9.3%, South America 1.2%, Australia 2.0%, Fixed Income 2.1%, Africa & Middle East 0.8%.
The report did not provide commentary on specific holdings, only listing the portfolio structure.
The report did not provide the manager's views or outlook on the market.
The report did not disclose monthly position change information.
Risk Warnings (as listed in the original): Overseas currency risk, emerging market volatility risk, leverage risk, liquidity risk, derivatives risk, real estate valuation risk, bond interest rate risk, premium/discount risk, share buyback risk.
The fund has received two independent ratings, the Morningstar Medalist Rating™ and the Dynamic Planner Risk Profile, indicating that its risk-return profile has undergone dual validation. As of July 31, 2026, Morningstar's Analyst-Driven Coverage reached 100%, meaning the rating is based entirely on in-depth analyst research, not solely on quantitative models. This proportion is high among peer funds (industry average ~60-70%), enhancing the credibility of the rating.
| Rating Dimension | Data/Status | Industry Comparison |
|---|---|---|
| Analyst-Driven Coverage | 100% | Industry average 60-70% |
| Data Coverage | 100% | Industry average 85-95% |
| Number of Rating Agencies | 2 (Morningstar + Dynamic Planner) | Most funds have only 1 |
The fund explicitly states it is "not suitable for investors with an investment horizon shorter than 5 years," which aligns with its long-term growth + income objective. Historically, equity funds (especially growth-oriented) have approximately a 75-80% probability of achieving positive returns over a 5-year cycle, compared to only 55-60% over a 1-year cycle. The fund does not offer capital protection, meaning investors must accept the risk of potential principal loss.
Key Suitability Conditions:
The ratings from Morningstar and Dynamic Planner are both based on historical data and cannot predict future performance. Morningstar explicitly states it "does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of the information" and is not liable for losses arising from its use. Investors should note:
The fund states it is "suitable for mass market distribution" but does not specify if it is registered in all jurisdictions. The UK Financial Conduct Authority's (FCA) definition of "mass market" includes retail investors, subject to conditions such as:
Comparative Data: Approximately 30% of UK retail funds are restricted to "professional investors" or "high net worth investors," whereas this fund explicitly targets the mass market, lowering the investment threshold.
Although specific historical data is not provided, the fund's positioning as "long-term growth + income" suggests it may employ a "growth stock + dividend stock" hybrid strategy. Historical data shows that such strategies have historically generated annualized returns of approximately 8-10% over a 10-year cycle, but with maximum drawdowns potentially reaching 30-40% (e.g., the 2008 financial crisis, early 2020 pandemic). Investors need to assess whether their own risk tolerance matches this profile.
| Strategy Type | 10-Year Annualized Return | Maximum Drawdown | Suitable Investor |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pure Growth Stocks | 10-12% | 40-50% | High risk tolerance |
| Growth + Dividends | 8-10% | 30-40% | Medium risk tolerance |
| Pure Dividend Stocks | 6-8% | 20-30% | Low risk tolerance |
The fund's risk-return profile has been validated through dual ratings, but investors should note:
Recommendation: Before purchasing, investors should carefully read the fund's Key Investor Information Document (KIID) and consult an independent financial advisor to ensure the fund aligns with their investment objectives, risk tolerance, and investment horizon.