This is a monthly factsheet for the Baillie Gifford Japan Investment Trust. Over the past year, its share price rose 20.9% but lagged the TOPIX index's 26.7%. The report doesn't state the manager's market view, but the trust uses modest borrowing (9% net gearing) and low turnover (16%), suggesting a long-term, buy-and-hold approach. Key holdings include Sony (consumer electronics), Keyence (industrial sensors), and Tokyo Electron (semiconductor equipment), all major Japanese tech and industrial firms.
Baillie Gifford Japan Trust PLC’s report as of August 31, 2026, indicates that the trust aims to achieve long-term capital growth by investing in 40-70 Japanese small and mid-cap companies with above-average growth potential, with a holding period of 3-5 years and the TOPIX Total Return as its bench
Monthly data was not disclosed separately; only cumulative and discrete performance as of August 31, 2026, is provided: Year-to-date (as of August 31) share price return of 20.9%, NAV return of 18.4%, both trailing the benchmark TOPIX's 26.7%.
| Metric | 1 Year | 3 Years | 5 Years | 10 Years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Share Price | 20.9% | 52.6% | 11.7% | 122.6% |
| NAV | 18.4% | 56.9% | 24.4% | 137.4% |
| Benchmark (TOPIX) | 26.7% | 62.9% | 67.1% | 147.3% |
Discrete performance (as of June 30 each year) shows that for the year ended June 30, 2026, the trust's share price returned +23.2%, NAV +20.2%, and the benchmark +31.5%, underperforming once again.
The report does not provide specific attribution data for contributions or detractions this month or in the near term; it only lists the top ten holdings and sector allocation.
The report does not comment on any specific positions; it only lists the top ten holdings and their weightings.
[Not explicitly stated] The report does not include the manager's views on the market, sectors, or themes, nor does it provide clues on position structure changes such as net exposure, leverage, or long/short ratios. Net leverage is 9%, gross leverage is 14%, active share is 84%, and annual turnover is 16%.
The report does not disclose any new positions, increases, reductions, or closures, nor does it mention capital movements at the sector, theme, or geographic level.