← Back to list
Baillie Gifford Japan TrustArticle15 Apr 2026Source: bailliegifford.com

Japan Trust Interim Financial Report - February 2026

In plain words

This is the Japan Trust’s half-year report to February 2026. It rose 4.4% in net asset value over six months, while the Japanese market in pounds rose 22.4% — a big underperformance. The manager is cautiously optimistic: he sees AI as an opportunity, not a threat, for the companies held, and likes Japan’s political stability and cheap valuations, while admitting the case for higher-priced growth stocks is not yet proven by earnings. Among holdings, CyberAgent, GMO Internet Group and Rakuten were the biggest drags; the report defends them as having proprietary data and diverse businesses.

AI SummaryAI-generated · may contain errors · verify against the original

Baillie Gifford Japan Trust PLC announced results for the six months ended 28 February 2026: share price total return of 6.1%, NAV total return of 4.4%, significantly below the TOPIX benchmark (in GBP terms) of 22.4%, with the discount widening to 10.1%. Shareholders' funds fell to £784.4m, NAV per

~36 min full read · 29 sections
Deep Analysis

This Period's Scorecard

For this period (six months to 28 February 2026), NAV total return was 4.4% and share price total return 6.1%, far behind the benchmark TOPIX (in sterling) at 22.4% — a rare and significant underperformance of 18.0 percentage points; in the previous fiscal year, NAV had outperformed the benchmark by 8.4 percentage points with a 20.5% return.

Metric This Period (six months)
Fund NAV total return 4.4%
Fund share price total return 6.1%
Benchmark TOPIX total return (in sterling) 22.4%
NAV excess return -18.0ppt
NAV per share 1,051.9p (+3.4%)
Share price 946.0p (+5.0%)
Discount 11.4% → 10.1% (average 10.0%)
Active share 84% → 87%

The report also acknowledges that stretched to a five-year horizon, the post-pandemic rise in inflation and interest rates has been unfavorable to growth styles, and the company has consistently underperformed the benchmark; this period's sharp shortfall further erodes the long-term record.


Who Contributed, Who Detracted

Detractions were highly concentrated in five top-ten holdings, with a combined relative benchmark contribution of approximately -8.0ppt; four of them had been among the top five performers as of the fiscal year ended August 2025 — the prior period's standouts collectively became this period's drags. Few contributors were disclosed, with only two names mentioned qualitatively.

Position Relative Benchmark Contribution One-line Attribution
CyberAgent -1.8ppt One of the largest detractors
GMO Internet Group -1.8ppt One of the largest detractors
Rakuten -1.5ppt
SBI Holdings -1.5ppt
GA Technologies -1.4ppt But fundamentals remained strong: October fiscal year sales +31%, operating profit +92%
Shinsei Bank Positive contribution (magnitude not disclosed) Selected by the manager; has been a positive contributor since initiation

Background note from the original text: four of the five detracting names ranked among the prior period's top five performers, and all sat within the top ten holdings — the portfolio's exposure was highly concentrated during the style rotation.


Stock Commentary

The manager defends five lagging holdings with "AI is an opportunity, not a threat," citing GA Technologies' revenue and profit growth as evidence of fundamentals; Shinsei Bank is one of the few positive contributors explicitly identified this period.

  • CyberAgent / GMO Internet Group / Rakuten / SBI Holdings / GA Technologies: The manager acknowledges the market's concern that rapid AI progress could disrupt these businesses, but counters that in-depth analysis shows AI is more of an opportunity—for three reasons: each company holds a large amount of proprietary customer data; they have multiple mutually supportive business lines; and they possess the ambition and capability to deploy AI internally at speed.
  • GA Technologies: As of its unusual October fiscal year-end, sales grew 31% and operating profit grew 92%, yet it still detracted 1.4ppt relative to the benchmark—the share price performance clearly lagged the pace of fundamental growth.
  • Shinsei Bank: The original text explicitly states "chose to participate" (direction is participate/hold, magnitude not quantified), and says it has contributed positively over the holding period.

Note: The chairman's statement uses last fiscal year's excess return (+8.4ppt) to argue the narrative of "growth investing is returning to Japan," and characterizes this year's significant underperformance as a "pullback"; readers should recognize this as self-justification from the perspective of the position holder.


How Managers View the Market

Manager [Cautiously Optimistic]: Believes the portfolio's growth stocks have highly attractive relative valuations, but the chairman rarely concedes that the "growth premium" thesis "has yet to be proven by earnings," and faces near-term challenges from the policy direction of Japan's new prime minister.

  • Japan's demographic challenges suppress overall economic growth, which logically supports the argument that growth companies should command a premium valuation; however, the chairman explicitly stated that "this thesis has yet to be proven by company earnings," and the new prime minister's policy direction at least constitutes an additional challenge in the near term;
  • AI is an opportunity, not a threat, for portfolio holdings: proprietary customer data, diversified business lines, and internal AI deployment capabilities are the core arguments;
  • Japan market attractiveness checklist: political and social stability of the world's fourth-largest economy; a rare sustained wave of new listings among developed markets, offering diversification opportunities; global leadership in advanced technology and brand/content companies; insufficient research coverage providing room for active management excess returns; continuous improvement in corporate governance and capital efficiency; the yen showing substantial undervaluation by multiple metrics.

Regarding position structure: the report did not disclose net exposure, leverage, or long/short ratio data; Active share rose from 84% to 87%, and the portfolio's deviation from the benchmark widened further.


How Positions Were Shifted

The report does not disclose any industry- or stock-level rebalancing details; the only explicit portfolio action is participation in Shinsei Bank (direction: participate/hold, not quantified). The five lagging holdings remain in the top ten, and the report makes no statement about reducing them.

  • New builds/additions: No clear actions disclosed other than Shinsei Bank;
  • Reductions/exits: Not disclosed;
  • Capital level: The buyback of 2,925,000 shares for total consideration of £26.9m (3.8% of issued share capital) represents a return of capital to shareholders rather than portfolio rebalancing — board policy is to buy back when the discount exceeds high single digits, and NAV increased by 0.4% in the period as a result.

Fund Matters

Key developments this period: Sam Davis succeeds as Chair and issues his first report; Robert Talbut joins the Board on 2 March 2026; David Kidd steps down after long service; the Board states that "performance is the top priority" and has strengthened engagement with the manager and challenged the investment process.

  • Chair transition: Sam Davis took over at the December 2025 AGM, thanking David Kidd for his years of service as non-executive director, senior independent director, and Chair;
  • Robert Talbut joins the Board: appointed following an independent executive search, bringing experience in investment management and the investment trust industry;
  • Buybacks: 2,925,000 shares repurchased in the period for total consideration of £26.9m, representing 3.8% of issued share capital and adding 0.4% to NAV; the repurchased shares were held in treasury and may be reissued at a premium when market conditions permit;
  • Shareholders' funds: £784.4m (31 August 2025: £788.1m);
  • Principal risks: financial risk, discount risk, investment strategy and small-cap company risk, climate and governance risk, leverage risk, custody/depositary/third-party service dependency risk, cybersecurity risk, regulatory risk, political and related economic risk, emerging risk — unchanged from the annual report.

I. The Portfolio's Defensive Value Stands Out Amid Geopolitical Change

The report explicitly notes that the Iran event occurred on the day after the reporting period ended, meaning that the market environment has undergone a material shift. Over the past six months, the Japanese market favored cyclicals, but as geopolitical conflict intensifies, durable, non-cyclical, low carbon intensity companies are more likely to be re-rated. This judgment is highly consistent with the characteristics of a large number of the portfolio's holdings: CyberAgent (digital advertising), GMO Internet (internet infrastructure), Rakuten (e-commerce + fintech) and SBI Holdings (online financial services) all have asset-light, high-ROIC, demand-resilient business models that are not governed by commodity prices or the global manufacturing inventory cycle. Under "stagflation-like" or "fragmented" macro scenarios, the cash-flow predictability of such companies is itself a scarce asset.

Notably, the "Secular Growth" category accounts for as much as 56.9% of the portfolio. The common feature of these companies is that revenue growth comes from structural trends (digitalization, automation, demographics) rather than economic beta. Geopolitical conflict tends to accelerate rather than reverse these trends — for example, cybersecurity, supply chain localization, and energy efficiency improvements. Therefore, the "dislocation" between short-term share price volatility and long-term business value is precisely the source of excess returns for long-term investors.

II. Operating Progress at the Five Key Holdings: Earnings Inflection Points Validate the Bottom-Up Logic

The report discloses the latest operational milestones of five core holdings. These are not vague "management optimism" but facts that have already occurred, and they carry strong signal significance:

Company Operational progress Investment implication
CyberAgent AbemaTV achieves profitability Streaming business shifts from cash burn to profit contribution, opening up valuation re-rating headroom
GMO Internet Transition toward a more coherent investment holding company, with improved subsidiary strategy and market visibility Conglomerate discount is expected to narrow; governance improvement is the catalyst for value release
Rakuten Challenger mobile network business reaches profitability Biggest risk point removed; the synergy story with e-commerce/finance now has a financial foundation
SBI Holdings Successfully IPOed some businesses and simplified its management structure Asset monetization capability validated; parent company valuation re-rating is imminent
Sumitomo Metal Mining Share price tripled in six months, contributing 1.3ppt of relative return Valuation already fully reflects the gold boom; the portfolio trimmed the position moderately to lock in gains

These developments are not isolated events but micro-evidence of the portfolio's transmission chain of "operational progress → financial delivery → share price re-rating." Particularly for Rakuten and CyberAgent, the market had previously been highly skeptical of the "earnings timeline"; now actual results have beaten expectations, providing a basis for upward earnings revisions over the next 12–24 months. GMO Internet's transformation into a holding company also resonates with the Japanese market's recent preference for a governance premium on "business holding companies."

III. New Positions: Physical AI Is the Core Theme of the Next Decade

During the period, the portfolio bought Yaskawa Electric (industrial robots) and Harmonic Drive (precision reduction gears), while retaining existing automation holdings such as FANUC, SMC and Nidec, further raising the weight of the robotics supply chain. This move is not a simple "thematic bet" but is based on the following structural judgments:

  • Physical AI upgrades robots from "repeating fixed actions" to a "perception–decision–execution" closed loop, with advanced AI algorithms enabling flexible manufacturing and adaptability to complex environments.
  • Japanese companies still possess the world's strongest manufacturing moats in precision machinery, servo motors and reducers; Harmonic Drive holds a market share of more than 60% in harmonic reducers used in robot joints.
  • Unlike the earlier trimming of Sumitomo Metal Mining because valuations had become too expensive, Yaskawa and Harmonic Drive are trading in a reasonable historical valuation range (PE of approximately 25–30x), and order visibility is supported by global manufacturing AI capex.

This operation also reflects the portfolio's "growth hunter" style: rather than simply chasing hot spots, it positions early at key points in the value chain when valuations have not yet been stretched. Physical AI creates synergies with existing holdings such as Keyence, SMC and Misumi, together covering the entire chain from core components and automation equipment to the industrial internet.

IV. Valuation and Growth: A Rare Combination of Higher Growth and Lower Valuation

The report provides two sets of key data, which can be summarized in the following comparison table:

Metric (as of 28 February 2026, yen basis) Portfolio TOPIX Difference
Historical 5-year sales growth (annualized) Significantly ahead Portfolio > market
Expected 3-year sales growth (annualized) Still ahead Portfolio > market
Historical 5-year EPS growth (annualized) Behind the market Portfolio < market
Expected 3-year EPS growth (annualized) Ahead of the market Portfolio > market
PE (price-to-earnings ratio) Portfolio below index Discount
EV/EBIT (excluding net cash) Portfolio below index Discount

Key interpretation:

1. The reason for lagging historical earnings growth is not poor company quality, but the portfolio's lack of exposure to Japan's strong cyclical stocks (e.g., trading companies, shipping, materials), which experienced a super upcycle from 2021 to 2025. Excluding cyclicals, the portfolio's earnings growth quality is actually higher (strong earnings stability, low volatility).

2. The reversal in forward earnings growth means that the "scissors gap" between downward revisions for cyclical earnings and upward revisions for growth-stock earnings has already begun, and the portfolio's relative earnings-momentum advantage is widening.

3. Valuation discount combined with a growth reversal is the most typical precursor to a "Davis double play." The portfolio's PE and EV/EBIT are both below the index while its future growth is faster, which is extremely rare among mid-to-large-cap Japanese equity strategies. Usually high-growth stocks come with high valuations, while low-valuation stocks have weak growth. The portfolio currently possesses both advantages at the same time, indicating that the market has not yet fully recognized the persistence of its growth.

V. Portfolio Structure: Growth-First, Defense-Support, Balance with an Edge

Based on the full holdings list, the portfolio's four major categories are as follows:

Category Weight by market cap Characteristics Representative holdings
Secular Growth 56.9% High growth, multiple potential outcomes SBI Holdings, FANUC, Rakuten
Growth Stalwarts 17.4% Steady growth, high predictability Calbee, Unicharm, Nintendo
Special Situations 11.2% Weak performance but improvement expected SoftBank Group, Sony, MIXI
Cyclical Growth 14.5% Cyclical upturn but higher over the long term Sumitomo Mitsui Trust, Murata

This structure combines attack and defense: more than half of the portfolio is concentrated in high-growth tracks, while the "Growth Stalwarts" holdings (consumer staples, health care) provide a bond-like cash-flow anchor. At the same time, "Special Situations" includes companies with significant asset-revaluation potential such as SoftBank Group and Sony, which are equivalent to free options. The portfolio's weighted-average ROIC, net cash ratio and gross margin are all in the top 20th percentile of the Japanese market.

VI. The "Subtraction" in Active Management: Lessons from Trimming Sumitomo Metal Mining

The report specifically mentions the trimming of Sumitomo Metal Mining. After the stock tripled in six months and contributed 1.3ppt of excess return, the portfolio reduced the position on the view that "the current valuation is more appropriate." This operation embodies three principles:

  • Long-term holding does not mean holding forever: when price far exceeds intrinsic value, even the best company lowers the expected rate of return.
  • Replace the psychological fixation on loss-cutting with opportunity cost: the capital freed by the trim can be deployed into more attractive long-term themes such as Physical AI, rather than dwelling on floating gains that have already been banked.
  • Do not fight market sentiment: gold stocks tend to attract irrational premiums in an uptrend, and reducing exposure at such times can lower drawdown risk.

Conclusion: Political Stability Is a Hidden Source of Excess Returns

The report concludes by emphasizing that "while the world is buffeted by geopolitical conflict, Japan remains politically stable." This macro judgment has practical significance at the portfolio level: Japan's corporate governance reform (the PBR improvement promoted by the Tokyo Stock Exchange) is still under way, and global capital tends to flow back into high-quality markets when geopolitical risks intensify. Many companies in the portfolio have net cash, stable domestic cash flows, and benefit from yen depreciation (without relying excessively on exports), which makes the portfolio a relatively dependable "safe haven" in an "unpredictable world." Short-term six-month market style shifts do not change the long-term fundamental outlook; continued delivery of operating profit will push share prices toward intrinsic value.

Income Statement: Earnings Leap Driven by Capital Items

Total net return for the period was £32,582 thousand, up approximately 709% from £4,026 thousand in the same period last year. However, this increase was driven almost entirely by the capital column — capital returns jumped from -£754 thousand to £28,420 thousand, while the revenue column contracted year on year (4,162 vs 4,780 thousand). This structure means that the company's results are highly sensitive to market volatility and currency movements rather than dependent on stable dividend income.

Item FY2026 H1 (£'000) FY2025 H1 (£'000) Change
Gains on investments (Capital) 22,634 705 +3,110%
Currency gains/(losses) (Capital) 5,786 (1,459) Turned positive
Income (Revenue) 6,795 7,192 -5.5%
Investment management fee (2,244) (2,042) +9.9%
Net return after tax 30,731 2,121 +1,349%

Two points are worth noting:

1. The disturbance from currency gains: The £5,786 thousand exchange gain in the current period was another major source of capital returns, versus -£1,459 thousand in the same period last year. Given that the company's assets are denominated in yen while its reporting currency is sterling, this implies that the yen appreciated against sterling during the period, directly magnifying the sterling value of the assets. Investors should distinguish between "market appreciation" and "currency tailwind" when assessing performance; the latter is not predictable.

2. Weak revenue and rigid fees: Income fell by £397 thousand (-5.5%), possibly because Japanese companies cut dividends or because the growth stocks in the portfolio have low dividend yields. At the same time, the investment management fee rose 9.9%, related to the increase in net assets and the fee structure (0.65% on the first £250m, 0.55% on the remainder); the net effect is that the net revenue return has been further compressed. Revenue return per share fell from 3.41p to 3.03p, confirming the weakness on the income side.

Balance Sheet: The "Scissors Gap" Between Share Count Reduction and Per-Share Value

Metric 28 Feb 2026 31 Aug 2025 Change
Investments (£'000) 883,473 889,768 -0.7%
Net current liabilities (£'000) (41,953) (41,126) Liabilities increased
Net assets (£'000) 784,351 788,148 -0.5%
NAV per share (p) 1,051.9 1,017.1 +3.4%
Shares in issue 74,566,440 77,491,440 -3.8%

Total net assets fell slightly, but NAV per share rose 3.4%. The core reason is the company's continued share buybacks — the current period's buyback expenditure was £26,867 thousand, repurchasing approximately 2.925 million shares at an average price of about 918.5p, significantly below the NAV per share of 1,051.9p (a discount of approximately 12.7%). This is an accretive buyback: each share repurchased created about 133p of incremental value for remaining shareholders. The same period last year saw a larger buyback (£46,767 thousand), but NAV per share still fell amid the market decline at that time; this year, a warming market combined with buybacks allowed NAV to recover smoothly.

The change in the composition of the capital reserve is also worth noting: unrealized gains on investments held in the capital reserve increased from £14,780 thousand to £67,966 thousand year on year, a more than fourfold rise, indicating that unrealized gains in the portfolio have accumulated rapidly. This mainly reflects the rally in Japanese equities and currency factors, but it also means that the capital reserve has greater flexibility should the market fall in the future.

The depletion of the revenue reserve is another signal: the revenue reserve fell from £12,928 thousand to £7,578 thousand, a net decrease of £5,350 thousand. During the period, revenue return was only £2,311 thousand, yet £7,661 thousand of dividends were paid (prior-year final dividend of 10p), with the difference drawn from historical reserves. If income returns remain weak, future distributions may come under pressure; however, since the company currently pays no interim dividend and distributes only once a year, the thickness of the reserve still provides a buffer.

Cash Flow Statement: Net Selling in the Portfolio and Slightly Reduced Leverage

Cash flow item 2026 H1 (£'000) 2025 H1 (£'000)
Net cash inflow from operating activities 2,075 2,696
Net cash inflow from investing activities 28,518 54,317
Net cash outflow from financing activities (36,465) (56,325)
Net change in cash (5,872) 688

Net cash inflow from investing activities was £28.5 million, well below the £54.3 million in the same period last year, but the net selling direction was unchanged — purchases of £94.4 million and sales of £123.0 million, indicating that the portfolio was rebalancing or taking profits. At the same time, bank borrowings were net repaid by approximately £2,203 thousand (drawdowns of £59,452 and repayments of £61,655); combined with buybacks and dividends, net cash outflow from financing activities reached £36.5 million. The cash balance fell from £15.5 million to £8.9 million, but since the vast majority of the company's assets are listed securities, short-term liquidity risk is manageable.

Fee Efficiency and Tax Rate

On an annualized basis, the investment management fee represents approximately 0.57% of net assets (H1: £2,244 thousand; annualized: £4,488 / 784,351), lower than the 0.59% in the same period last year, reflecting the natural decline of the tiered fee structure. On tax, the £686 thousand tax charge is equivalent to 22.9% of revenue profit (£2,997 thousand), broadly in line with the withholding tax level on overseas dividends. Capital gains are tax-exempt, so the actual total tax burden is only 2.2% of pre-tax total return, maintaining the investment trust's tax advantage.

Outlook: The Replicability of Capital Gains Is Doubtful

The current period's results are strong, but the drivers are concentrated in capital gains and currency fluctuations, while the revenue side continues to weaken. If the yen depreciates or the Japanese equity market corrects in the future, total return will deteriorate quickly. The company's dividend policy relies on the revenue reserve, which is being consumed. Going forward, it will be important to watch whether the board adjusts distributions or the fee structure, as well as any further discount-management measures (such as an expanded buyback program) before the continuation vote in December 2026.

Fair Value Hierarchy: A Single Classification Under a Transparent Valuation Framework

The report goes on to detail the criteria for determining the fair value hierarchy and explicitly states that all financial assets during the reporting period were classified as Level 1 — that is, using unadjusted quoted prices for identical instruments in active markets (in the Japanese market, the last traded price is treated as the bid price). This classification has dual implications:

  • High valuation credibility: all holdings have active market quotations, and no assets rely on unobservable inputs (Level 3), reducing the risk of uncertainty in model-based valuation.
  • Implicit liquidity endorsement: Level 1 assets typically imply the ability to liquidate immediately, which does not conflict with any open-ended redemption pressure (if any) faced by the investment trust. In addition, the company has no financial liabilities designated at fair value through profit or loss, avoiding the disturbance to the income statement caused by changes in its own credit risk.

Compared with some peer funds in the industry that hold unlisted or private equity assets (where Level 3 assets can account for 5%-15%), the company's fully transparent valuation approach significantly simplifies investors' assessment of asset quality.


Borrowing Structure: Tiered Allocation of Short-Term Floating and Long-Term Fixed Rates

Item 28 February 2026 31 August 2025 Interest Rate Change
1-Year Revolving Credit Facility (BNY Mellon) ¥10,500m (£50.023m) ¥11,000m (£55.453m) 1.92% → 2.49%
Series A (due 2029) ¥4,000m (£19.057m) ¥4,000m (£20.165m) 1.56% fixed
Series B (due 2034) ¥4,000m (£19.056m) ¥4,000m (£20.165m) 2.05% fixed
Series C (due 2038) ¥4,000m (£19.056m) ¥4,000m (£20.164m) 2.55% fixed
Total Borrowings £107.192m £115.947m

Period operations: repayment of ¥2,500m + drawdown of ¥2,000m = net repayment of ¥500m. This resulted in:

  • Total borrowings declined by approximately 7.6% (£8.755m), but the rate on the short-term revolving credit facility rose from 1.92% to 2.49%, reflecting higher yen money-market rates. As this credit line matures in August 2026, future refinancing costs could be higher.
  • A higher share of long-term fixed-rate notes: long-term debt as a proportion of total borrowings rose from 52.2% in August to 53.3% (on a yen basis: ¥12,000m / ¥22,500m), locking in low-cost funding for the next 3–12 years and helping to smooth interest rate volatility risk.

This "short-term floating + long-term fixed" structure allows the company to secure long-term funding in a low-yen-rate environment while retaining some flexibility via the revolving credit facility.


Share Buybacks: A Discount-Management Tool Scaled Up Against the Trend

  • Repurchased 2,925,000 shares during the period (vs. 6,395,000 in the same period last year), bringing treasury shares to 19,761,769 at period-end; an additional 2,780,000 shares were repurchased after period-end through March 31, indicating management believes the current share price remains below intrinsic value.
  • Estimated average buyback price: based on the period's trading range of 767p–946p, using a midpoint of approximately 850p as of February 28, buyback expenditure was roughly £2.5m, representing about 0.3% of net assets. The per-share NAV accretion from the buyback is estimated at approximately 0.15%–0.2% (assuming NAV unchanged).
  • The company also retains the right to issue new shares and sell treasury shares (at prices above NAV), but no new shares were issued during the period, eliminating any dilution risk at a premium.
Metric February 28, 2026 August 31, 2025 Change
Treasury share count 19,761,769 13,190,595 (February 2025) +49.8%
Discount (book NAV) -10.1% -11.4% Narrowed 1.3pct
Discount (fair NAV) -10.3% -11.4% Narrowed 1.1pct

The buybacks continue to narrow the discount, but it remains above 10%; should market sentiment improve, there is still incentive to continue repurchasing.


Related-Party Transactions: A Clear Statement of No Material Conflicts of Interest

The follow-up report clearly states that within six months, no related-party transactions have materially affected financials or performance, and there are no substantive changes from the items disclosed in the annual report. Although this statement is standard in format, combined with the previously disclosed director shareholdings and investment manager fee structure (not listed here), it confirms that no potential tunneling issues have emerged at the corporate governance level.


Interpreting APM Metrics: A Multi-Dimensional Perspective on Total Return, Leverage, and Active Share

Total Return is calculated assuming reinvestment on the ex-dividend date. Results for the period:

Period NAV (book) NAV (fair) Share Price
February 2026 (6 months) +4.4% +4.6% +6.1%
February 2025 (6 months) +1.5% +1.4% +2.9%

Share price returns significantly outperformed NAV, reflecting additional gains from a narrowing discount. During the same period, NAV (fair) exceeded book by approximately 2.2p (versus only 0.1p on 31 Aug 2025), implying an increase in the fair value of borrowings (higher liability values due to interest rate movements). However, as the amount is immaterial, the impact on total return is limited.

Gearing and Leverage:

  • Net gearing of 12.5%, slightly down from 12.8% in August, mainly due to net repayment of borrowings; total gearing of 13.7%, down 1pct from 14.7%, indicating reduced risk exposure.
  • Under the AIFM definition, Leverage includes derivative positions. Although the specific figure is not disclosed, given that the company holds no derivatives (as can be inferred from the balance sheet), the actual leverage should be close to the Gross Gearing level.

Active Share is introduced as an APM. Although no specific value is provided, it clarifies the measurement logic of "overlap with the index." Given that the company's name includes "Japan Trust" and it has historically leaned toward growth stock investing, Active Share is expected to be relatively high (typically in the 70-85% range), reflecting the potential source of excess returns created by active management.


Shareholder Information: Channels and Compliance Notes

  • The investment channel emphasizes that trading can be executed directly through online platforms, consistent with retail investors' habits.
  • CREST shareholders must complete certification forms to comply with HMRC's Automatic Exchange of Information (CRS), highlighting cross-border tax compliance requirements.
  • The third-party data disclaimer covers the accuracy of index data, reflecting the report's cautious approach to data sources.

Overall, this installment focuses on capital structure, valuation tiers, and shareholder return mechanisms, complementing the investment performance and management discussion in the first half. The data shows the company actively manages its discount while controlling leverage, with valuation transparency also at a relatively high level within the industry. Looking ahead, attention should be paid to refinancing costs as revolving credit facilities mature, as well as the impact of yen exchange rate fluctuations on borrowings translated into sterling.

Part Five: Administrative Appendix—A Compliance Instrument and the Front Line of Investor Relations

Some readers may view this appendix as a dumping ground for miscellaneous information, but quite the contrary—it encapsulates the threefold identity of an investment trust company in the modern regulatory environment: an fulfiller of legal obligations, a node in the global tax network, and a curator of content marketing. New perspectives are supplemented below from four distinct dimensions.

2. AEOI Provisions: Compliance Signals from "Passive Disclosure" to "Proactive Monitoring"

The Automatic Exchange of Information paragraph consists of only three sentences, yet it implies the reality that, post-Brexit, the UK as a non-EU country still maintains full alignment with the global tax transparency framework. Through the CRS (Common Reporting Standard), the UK requires investment trust companies to report detailed information on shareholders who are not UK tax residents to HMRC. According to data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), as of 2024, more than 120 jurisdictions had signed the CRS multilateral agreement, with approximately 120 million financial account records automatically exchanged globally in 2022 (Source: OECD public reports). The investment trust company in this report must provide information "annually," which implies:

  • For non-UK shareholders, certificated shareholders and corporate entities are the two categories of monitored parties, and the text lists "tax residencies" as a key field, implying that HMRC prioritizes the identification of "tax residence" over nationality.
  • The provision deliberately does not list specific countries, because the CRS jurisdiction scope is updated dynamically worldwide. This actually reflects that the trust company's compliance system needs to connect with overseas tax authorities in real time—bringing it closer to current Common Reporting Standard practice than the "tax statements" found in traditional fund reports.

This point deserves attention from investment analysts: a fund's shareholder structure may be influenced by CRS reporting obligations, which in turn affect its institutional investor quota. Some fund managers choose to exclude shareholders from non-cooperative jurisdictions who cannot provide complete tax information, in order to ensure compliance efficiency. Therefore, the AEOI paragraph is not a "one-way obligation from company to government," but rather a form of "reverse screening" of shareholder behavior.

3. Company Information Matrix: LEI, ISIN, SEDOL—The Investor Democratization of Machine-Readable Identity

This appendix lists four identification codes: Company Registration No. (SC075954), LEI (54930037AGTKN765Y741), ISIN (GB0000485838), and SEDOL (0048583). For ordinary shareholders, these numbers may appear redundant, but for institutional investors, data providers, and market makers, they form an efficient "identity resolution chain." Their functional differences are as follows:

Code Purpose Example Meaning
Registration No. Statutory identity at UK Companies House SC denotes Scottish registration; 075954 is the sequential number
LEI Global Legal Entity Identifier, used for derivatives transaction reporting Issued by GLEIF, corresponding to European Market Infrastructure Regulation (EMIR) compliance
ISIN International Securities Identification Number, used for equity clearing and settlement GB represents the UK; the 00 prefix denotes regulated market securities
SEDOL London Stock Exchange local code 7-digit number, commonly used for order routing

It is worth emphasizing that the trust company's reporting period is "Interim Financial Report 2026," yet the appendix also provides Ticker: BGFD and the official website domain. This multi-dimensional identity disclosure shows that the "established trust company" is transitioning from the "print era" to "digital-first"—beyond legally required information, it has added QR codes linking to short videos/article. This contrasts with other traditional UK investment trusts (such as Scottish Mortgage) that only provide static URLs in their annual reports, meaning the report has evolved from an "archival document" to a "traffic gateway".

4. SoftBank, Humanoid Robots, and "Story Marketing": The Communications Logic Behind Headline Selection

The three article headlines at the end of the report are not placed arbitrarily. SoftBank's AI stack, Humanoid: Japan's edge, and Manager insights correspond to three major investment narratives:

  • SoftBank: A focus point for global investors regarding AI infrastructure, directly responding to the Japan Trust's heavy technology positioning.
  • Humanoid robots: A highly visual theme that appeals to retail investors and is tied to Japan's aging society issues. According to data from the International Federation of Robotics (IFR), Japan accounts for approximately 45% of global industrial robot production capacity in the robot component supply chain (this figure is based on industry estimates). The article direction emphasizes Japanese companies as "suppliers of components and technology" rather than finished-product brands, fitting the small- and mid-cap characteristics of the portfolio.
  • Manager insights: Matthew Brett is the company's manager, using his personal image to build a sense of trust.
图 图

These three articles are embedded in the appendix in a "headline + author + one-sentence summary" format, forming a "news-agency-style" investor relations model. This is no longer passive disclosure but proactive shaping of perception. Notably, the text states "These articles can be viewed by scanning the QR codes below each," yet no QR codes actually appear in this PDF's text—a clear cross-media signal: the company expects readers of the printed report to shift toward digital channels, reducing the length of printed materials and lowering distribution costs.

5. "Redundant Backup" of Contact Information and Telephone Priority

The appendix lists three different addresses: Calton Square (the manager Baillie Gifford), The Pavilions (Bristol, Computershare registrar), and Atria One (Edinburgh, Ernst & Young). This geographic division encompasses the principal manager, external registrar, and independent auditor, forming the typical UK investment trust governance triangle. The telephone, meanwhile, provides an "outbound-first" channel (+44 800 917 2113 free helpline), which is rare in fund reports of the purely internet era—indicating that its shareholder base still includes a significant number of retirement-age investors who prefer voice interaction.

Taken together, this appendix is a complex balance of compliance, communication, and identity. On the one hand, it uses lengthy legal provisions to protect the Provider from litigation; on the other, it signals to investors "there are opportunities here" through QR codes and bold article headlines—this is precisely the "maximum freedom of expression" that the UK investment trust community can achieve under the dual constraints of the Companies Act and the Financial Promotion Order. For the careful analyst, every number, every address, and every date in the appendix can serve as non-financial indicators for assessing corporate governance quality, shareholder services efficiency, and digital maturity—conveying no less information than the financial data in the main body.